Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team shatter records in Fortress Indore vs Australia

Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team secured a third consecutive series win over Australia with victory in the Indore ODI and in the process, they shattered plenty of records.

india vs australia 2017 Updated: Sep 24, 2017 23:27 IST
Siddharth Vishwanathan
Siddharth Vishwanathan
Hindustan Times, Indore
India vs Australia,Virat Kohli,Indian cricket team
Hardik Pandya’s 78 gave Virat Kohli-led India a five-wicket win over Australia in the Indore ODI.(AFP)

The domination continues. Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team put in a brilliant performance to beat Australia by five wickets at the Holkar Stadium on Sunday to register a comprehensive series win. (India vs Australia 3rd ODI Highlights)

Fifties from Hardik Pandya (78), Rohit Sharma (71) and Ajinkya Rahane (70) cancelled out Aaron Finch’s brilliant eighth century as Australia stumbled yet again. Here is a look at some of the records created by India in the course of their historic win. (India vs Australia 3rd ODI Full Scorecard)

3 - Consecutive bilateral ODI series wins for India against Australia in India. They won a three-match series in 2010 1-0, a seven-match series 3-2 and now, they have clinched the five-match ODI series with two games to play.

READ | Hardik Pandya blitz propels India to series win vs hapless Australia

1 - India have won their first three games in a bilateral series against Australia. This is the first time that India have achieved this against Australia in ODIs.

5 - Number of consecutive wins for India at the Holkar Stadium. They have achieved this feat in an Indian ground for the first time ever.

9 - Number of consecutive ODI wins for Virat Kohli as Indian skipper. He has equalled MS Dhoni’s feat which he achieved in 2008/09.

100- Number of stumpings for MS Dhoni as wicketkeeper when he stumped Glenn Maxwell off Yuzvendra Chahal. He had three stumpings for Asia XI. Overall, he is the first keeper in ODI history to effect 100 stumpings.

First Published: Sep 24, 2017 23:27 IST