Dasun Shanaka’s ‘error of judgement’ adds to Sri Lanka’s embarrassment

Sri Lanka pacer Dasun Shanaka was penalised for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to ‘changing the condition of the ball in breach of clause 41.3’ during the second Test against India in Nagpur

india vs sri lanka 2017 Updated: Nov 26, 2017 18:36 IST
Sanjjeev K Samyal
Sanjjeev K Samyal
Hindustan Times, Nagpur
India vs Sri Lanka,Dasun Shanaka,Indian cricket team
Dasun Shanaka was found guilty of ball tampering in the India vs Sri Lanka second Test.(AP)

To add insult to injury, the Sri Lankan team which is getting hammered in the second Test have been left to deal with the unsporting act of their pace bowler Dasun Shanaka, who was charged by the match referee for changing the condition of the ball during the second day of the ongoing Test against India. The 26-year-old pacer was caught on TV picking near the seam of the ball during the 50th over of India’s first innings and was charged by match officials. (India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Highlights)

He has been fined 75 per cent of his match fee for the breach and will also receive three demerit points on his disciplinary record. (India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test scorecard)

The Sri Lanka team manager Asanka Gurusinha lay the blame entirely on the player and said that the team members knew nothing about it.

READ | Sri Lanka pacer Dasun Shanaka fined for ball tampering in 2nd Test vs India

“It is actually error of judgement in Dasun’s part. Just one over it happened. None of the team members knew that and it wasn’t planned or anything. It wasn’t (due to) frustration or anything that he did it,” said Gurusinha, the former Sri Lanka opening batsman.

READ | Virat Kohli matches Brian Lara’s record, blasts 5th 200 in Nagpur Test vs Sri Lanka

“He is very remorseful about what happened. He takes full responsibility for that. The senior players have spoken to him. He needs support. He is a young kid and that’s his third Test match. The team has got discipline guidelines and he has to follow that,” added Gurusinha, while refusing to go into the details of the incident. “I don’t want to go into detail. We had a chat with Match Referee. We have seen all of that. The best thing for the team is to let it go.”

First Published: Nov 26, 2017 18:35 IST