Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

13 receive Young Scientist Award at ISC

President Kalam presented Indian Science Congress Association' (ISCA) 'Young Scientist Awards' for the year 2005-06.

india Updated: Jan 05, 2006 13:57 IST

President APJ Abdul Kalam on Thursday presented Indian Science Congress Association' (ISCA) 'Young Scientist Awards' for the year 2005-06 to 13 scientists, who excelled in their respective areas of research.

The award ceremony followed the inauguration of the 'Integrated Rural Development: Science and Technology function' at the 93rd Indian Science Congress (ISC).

The ISCA had selected 13 young scientists out of 14 categories. No scientist has been selected for Animal Veterinary and Fishery sciences.

The recipients included Anirban Roy, working at the plant virus laboratory at the Central Research Institute for Jute and Allied Fibres, Barrackpore (Kolkata) for Agriculture and Forestry sciences.

Hyderabad's Osmania University-based Syed Salman Ahmed has received the award in Anthropology and Behavioural sciences, while Ajay Kumar of the Chemistry Department, Kurukhsetra University, bagged the award for Chemical sciences.

Mr Tejpal Singh, CAS in Geology, Punjab University won the award in the Earth Sciences category, while Manoj Khandelwal, Department of Earth sciences, IIT Mumbai, won the award in the Engineering services category.

In the environmental sciences category, the award went to Mr Rathinam Aravindhan, working at the chemical laboratory of Central Leather Research institute, Chennai while Animesh Mukherjee, Department of Computer Sciences and Engineering, IIT Kharagpur was awarded for computer sciences and DP Singh, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi in Material sciences.

The other five recipients are YM Bose, Department of Mathematics, Pune University (Mathematical sciences), Rajashree Patra, National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Diseases, Kolkata (Medical sciences), Manas Kumar Santra, School of Bio Sciences and Bioengineering, IIT Mumbai (new biology), KK Choudhury, Department of Physics, Shri Vaishnav Institute of Technology and Sciences, Indore (Physical Sciences) and D Sunder, Centre for Bioinformatics, Pondicherry University (Plant Sciences).

First Published: Jan 05, 2006 13:23 IST