Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi Assembly passes Office of Profit Bill

The Delhi Assembly passed a Bill exempting 14 posts held by some of the legislators from the list of such offices.

india Updated: May 18, 2006 17:21 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

With several Congress MLAs facing Election Commission notices on the Office of Profit issue, the Delhi assembly on Thursday passed a Bill exempting 14 posts held by some of the legislators from the list of such offices amid stiff opposition from the BJP.

The Bill 'Members of Delhi Legislative Assembly (Removal of Disqualification) Amendment, 2006, was tabled by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit at a specially-convened day-long session of the assembly and was passed by a voice vote with BJP members voting against it.

The Bill exempts 14 posts, including Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Trans-Yamuna Development Board and Parliamentary Secretary to Chief Minister, from the definition of 'Office of Profit'.

Terming the Bill as "illegal", BJP members demanded that Congress members who were served with notices by the EC for holding office of profit be banned from participating in the assembly proceedings.

BJP MLAs claimed that the Bill was tabled in a hurried manner and the government had not followed norms of giving them a copy of the proposed legislation in advance.

Speaker Prem Singh rejected the demands of the opposition benches paving the way for the Bill to be tabled in the House.

The session was convened in the wake of Election Commission issuing notices to 19 MLAs and an MP belonging to the Congress on a petition filed by BJP MLA Vijay Jolly seeking their disqualification on the ground that they are holding offices of profit.

The Bill also exempts offices like District Development Committee, SC/ST Welfare Board, Governing bodies of Colleges, Group Housing Societies and Rural Development Board.

First Published: May 18, 2006 15:44 IST