Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Kiran Desai on Man Booker list

The Indian-born author's book, The Inheritance of Loss, has been named in the fiction category of the prestigious award.

india Updated: Aug 18, 2006 17:03 IST
Indo-Asian News Service
Indo-Asian News Service

The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai, the India-born author, has been named as one of the 19 works of fiction long-listed for this year's prestigious Man Booker prize.

The judging panel for the 2006 Man Booker Prize for Fiction this week announced the long-list chosen from 112 entries.

While Indian authors, including Salman Rushdie and Arundhati Roy, have won the literary prize before, this is the first nomination for Desai whose earlier work Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard too had raised high expectations.

Desai's book, based on the contemporary theme of displacement, will compete with the likes of Peter Carey (

Theft: A Love Story

), who has won the prize twice for

Oscar and Lucinda


The True History of the Kelly Gang


Indian-born author Kiran Desai on Man Booker list

Also on the long-list is Nadine Gordimer (Get a Life), the South African author who received the Nobel Prize for literature in 1991, and Robert Edric (Gathering the Water), who was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize in 2002 for Peacetime.

Then there is Jon McGregor (So Many Ways to Begin) who was long-listed for the 2002 Man Booker.

Commented Hermione Lee, chair of judges: "We have many regrets about some of the novels we've left off, and we could easily have had a long-list of about 30 books, but we're delighted with the variety, the originality, the drama and craft, the human interest and the strong voices in this long-list.

"It's a list in which famous established novelists rub shoulders with little known newcomers. We hope that people will leap at it for their late summer reading and make up their own shortlist," a Man Booker release quoted Lee as saying.

The judging panel for the prize also includes Simon Armitage, poet and novelist, Candia McWilliam, award-winning novelist, Anthony Quinn, critic, and Fiona Shaw, actor.

The 2006 shortlist will be announced on September 14 while the winner will be announced onOctober 10 at an awards ceremony at Guildhall, London.

The winner receives£50,000 whereas the six shortlisted authors each receive a cheque for £2,500.

The Booker Prize for Fiction was originally set up by Booker Plc in 1969 to "reward merit, raise the stature of the author in the eyes of the public and encourage an interest in contemporary quality fiction".

In April 2002, it was announced that Man Group Plc had been chosen by the Booker Prize Foundation as the new sponsor of the Booker Prize. This sponsorship has now been extended by five years.

First Published: Aug 18, 2006 17:03 IST