IPL 2017 breaking boundaries, reaches 500 fours in just 18 matches
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017 breaking boundaries, reaches 500 fours in just 18 matches

Manish Pandey hit the 2017 Indian Premier League’s (IPL’s) landmark boundary in Kolkata Knight Riders’ four-wicket win over Delhi Daredevils

ipl 2017 Updated: Apr 19, 2017 11:37 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
IPL 2017,Indian Premier League,Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir has hit the most number of boundaries by an individual in IPL 2017 (Indian Premier League 2017). Gambhir has struck 30 fours in five innings.(PTI)

The 18th match of the 2017 Indian Premier League (IPL) season was played between Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders on Monday.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the match by four-wickets with Manish Pandey playing a starring role with the bat as they chased down Delhi Daredevils’ 168-run target.

Read more | Sanju Samson’s Superman dive for Delhi Daredevils is simply awesome - Watch it

On the way to his unbeaten 69, Pandey struck three sixes and four fours, the last of which was the 500th boundary of the ongoing IPL season.

Pandey’s fourth four — and the tournament’s 500th — came off a Chris Morris delivery. It was the 36th innings of the 18th match of IPL 2017.


As of Monday, Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir has notched up the most number of boundaries by an individual in IPL 2017.

Read more | Live cricket score, Gujarat Lions vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL T20 live

Gambhir has struck 30 fours in five innings.

Following him on the list of most fours by a single batsman is Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner (26 fours from five matches) and Rising Pune Supergiant skipper Steve Smith (19 fours from four matches).

Gambhir has also struck the most fours in a single innings so far with his 12 boundaries against Gujarat Lions in Rajkot on April 7. He occupies the second spot as well with 11 fours against Kings XI Punjab at Kolkata Knight Riders’ home ground Eden Gardens on April 13.

Read more | From Parvez Rasool to Rubiya Sayeed: How cricketers from J&K are an inspiration

Gambhir, who also played for Delhi Daredevils previously, continues to lead the IPL’s all-time most fours list with 452 boundaries from 136 innings, followed by Suresh Raina’s 373 fours from 147 innings (for Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Lions) and Virat Kohli’s 367 fours from 133 innings (all for Royal Challengers Bangalore).


Kolkata Knight Riders lead the franchises in the fours department with 522 thus far. Seven KKR players have contributed to the team’s 78 fours in IPL 2017.

Read more | India team gives former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi signed Virat Kohli jersey

In terms of variety, Rising Pune Supergiant has had contributions from more players than any other team. RPS has struck 68 fours with 12 players contributing to them; more than any other team.

(With inputs from S. Pervez Qaiser)

First Published: Apr 18, 2017 16:42 IST