Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 16, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Noida: Jewar will be first in Gautam Budh Nagar district to come out with assembly poll results

Jewar will be the first to come out with election results as it is the smallest constituency in Gautam Budh Nagar, the largest being Noida

noida Updated: Mar 10, 2017 12:05 IST
Vinod Rajput
Vinod Rajput
Hindustan Times
UP assembly elections,poll results,counting day
Heavy security at the flower market in Noida Phase 2 where EVMs are kept till counting day on March 11.(Sunil Ghosh/HT Photo)

Jewar assembly constituency will be the first in the district to come out with election results as it is the smallest of the three constituencies of  Gautam Budh Nagar, the district administration-cum-election commission office said on Wednesday.

Polling for the three seats of Gautam Budh Nagar district took place on February 11 in the first phase of elections. Counting of votes and announcement of results will take place on March 11 along with other assembly constituencies in the state.

“As Jewar has only 25 rounds with 3,22,448 voters, we will be able to finish counting for the seat by 1:30pm. With 35 rounds of counting, Noida is the biggest assembly constituency, so we will be announcing the result by 2:30pm. Results for the Dadri assembly constituency will be out by 2pm as it has 30 rounds of counting,” said Amit Kumar, subdivisional magistrate and returning officer for Noida.

Read more: UP Elections 2017: Jewar witnesses 66% voter turnout

Administration officials held a meeting with all parties’ agents on Thursday at Balak Inter College in Bisrakh, Greater Noida, ahead of the counting day on Saturday.

Counting of votes will begin at 8am at the Phool Mandi in Noida phase 2 and results for all 403 assembly seats in the state are expected to be announced by 4pm, according to officials.

“Jewar is the smallest assembly constituency in the district. Noida is a large assembly seat in terms of number of voters. Like Jewar, there are many other small assembly seats, results for which will be declared one or two hours before the larger constituencies,” said an official of the Election Commission of India.

On February 11, of the 12,86,431 voters in the district’s three constituencies, only 7,30,699 cast their votes with a total polling percentage of 56.8%.

The Noida assembly seat registered the lowest polling percentage of 48.55. Jewar registered the highest with 65.33%, followed by Dadri with 60.22%.

Of the 5,23,559 voters in Noida, only 2,54,197 exercised their franchise. In Dadri assembly segment, 2,65,210 out of a total of 4,40,424 registered voters cast their vote. In Jewar, the figure was 2,11,292 out of 3,22,448 voters.

First Published: Mar 09, 2017 23:18 IST