Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 18, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

In pics: A look back at ICC World T20 winners since 2007

After winning the first edition in 2007, India have failed to clinch the showpiece event in subsequent editions.

world t20 Updated: Mar 13, 2016 12:17 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
World Cup T20,ICC World T20,Winners of T20 world cups
Cricket fans during the ICC T20 World cup match between Bangladesh and Netherlands in Dharamsala.(PTI)

The World Cup Twenty-20 got underway with the qualifiers in Nagpur on March 8, with the 10-nation main event to get underway on March 15, when India take on New Zealand at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

After winning the first edition in 2007, India have failed to clinch the showpiece event in subsequent editions. Here is the recap...

2007: India

The BCCI were reluctant to send a team to SA, and seniors Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly kept away to indicate that the game’s biggest draw wasn’t taking T20 seriously. But under MS Dhoni, India charged through unbeaten to win the trophy. Yuvraj’s six sixes off an over by Stuart Broad electrified the event.

2009: Pakistan

Heroes in South Africa, India turned zeroes in England. They had played just five T20 internationals since the 2007 triumph, and the lack of experience showed. A reported rift between Dhoni and Virender Sehwag distracted the team further and they failed to make the semis. Pakistan won the event.

2010: England

India began with two wins but lost the next three matches to be packed off from the Caribbean, eliminated before semifinals. More criticism was heaped on the team after some players got into a tiff with taunting fans at a night spot in St. Lucia following the elimination. England beat Australia in the final.

2012: West Indies

After two disasters, India produced a drastically improved show in Sri Lanka, but were still unable to reach the semifinals. They won four matches, and lost just one and still went out. In their last game, they had to beat South Africa by 31 runs to pip Pakistan but won by just one run. WI won the title.

2014: Sri Lanka

India began with a resounding win over Pakistan – by seven wickets — and went on to win all their five matches to reach the final in Dhaka. The former champions ran into an in-form Sri Lanka whose skipper Lasith Malinga and fellow bowlers contained India’s batsmen, reducing Yuvraj to a strokeless wonder.

Also Read WT20: Is Bumrah the X-factor? Self-belief high in Dhoni’s Team India

Full Coverage: ICC World T20

First Published: Mar 13, 2016 12:15 IST