No more playing tricks, ICC warns England pacer Broad
International Cricket Council censured England fast bowler Stuart Broad for throwing his left arm towards extra-cover fielder during his delivery stride in a bid to unsettle South African batsman AB de Villiers in Thursday's World Twenty20 match and told him not to repeat the act.world Updated: Jun 13, 2009 22:59 IST
International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday censured England fast bowler Stuart Broad for throwing his left arm towards extra-cover fielder during his delivery stride in a bid to unsettle South African batsman AB de Villiers in Thursday's World Twenty20 match and told him not to repeat the act.
Broad kicked up a debate, though his strategy in the 16th over misfired as De Villiers worked the ball behind square effortlessly and the South Africans went on to win the game by seven wickets.
England skipper Paul Collingwood felt that Broad's tactic did not violate the spirit of the game, but match officials Alan Hurst, Steve Davis and Alan Hill considered it "an inappropriate action".
The umpires did not act, although Law 42.4 of the Laws of Cricket makes it clear that "it is unfair for any member of the fielding side deliberately to attempt to distract the striker while he is preparing to receive or receiving a delivery."
South African captain Graeme Smith sought clarification from the ICC, and the governing body told Broad to desist from such acts, thus disagreeing with Collingwood's view that his teammate was only trying to be innovative.
Broad's strategy in any case would have been short-lived as the batsman has the prerogative to pull out of his stance, frustrating the bowler.
England coach Andy Flower recalled a similar act some years ago by former South African all-rounder Shaun Pollock.
"I remember Shaun Pollock doing that a few years ago," said Flower.
"He didn't point to the left as Stuart did but he looked to the left as he ran in. He was probably the first guy I saw do it. I don't think it's a huge issue, to be honest."