Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Maharashtra Exit polls 2019 highlights: BJP-Shiv Sena to cross 200-mark, predict exit polls

Maharashtra Exit polls 2019 highlights: Most exit polls have predicted that BJP-Shiv Sena will come back to power in Maharashtra with a huge margin. Here are the highlights

By HT Correspondent | Oct 21, 2019 21:20 IST

Voting for assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana across 378 constituencies concluded at 6 pm on Monday, following which TV channels aired exit polls after the EC mandated half an hour gap.

Polling across 288 assembly seats in Maharashtra took place in a single phase election, where approximately 55% voters turned up to cast their vote till 6pm, according to data provided by ECI’s Voter Turnout app.

Exit polls are predictions based on responses of the people who have cast their votes. Assuming that the voters have correctly revealed their choice, pollsters predict the results much before the actual counting of votes.


Here are the highlights of exit polls:

8:05 pm IST

Exit polls project second term for Shiv-Sena combine


7:55 pm IST

Shiv Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray vs NCP’s Suresh Mane in Worli

On Maharashtra’s Worli seat, it’s a battle between Shiv Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray, who made his electoral debut this assembly election, and Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) Suresh Mane, a former state president of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and a Dalit activist.

The Sena has left no stone unturned to ensure that Aaditya wins by a huge margin.

7:45 pm IST

Devendra Fadnavis to lead BJP in Maharashtra

Devendra Fadnavis is leading BJP in Maharshtra and has been declared as the chief minister face for the state by the party.

While addressing an election campaign in the state, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had said “Narendra in Delhi and Devendra in Maharashtra is a superhit formula”.

7:25 pm IST

Congress-NCP to trail in Maharashtra, predict exit polls

Most exit polls have predicted that the Congress-NCP alliance in Maharashtra will trail on the result day that October 24. The alliance is expected to win 52-59 seats, says Republic- Jan Ki Baat, the NEWSX-POLSTRAT says the tie up will get 74-89 seats,while India Today-Axis says the alliance will win 72-90 seats. The News18-IPSOS exit poll has predicted that the Congress-NCP will win 41, ABP C-Voter says it will win 55-81 seats, while Time Now has predicted their win on 48 seats.

7:10 pm IST

After massive campaigning, exit polls predict big win for BJP-Shiv Sena

After BJP and Shiv Sena led month-long aggressive campaign in Maharashtra, most exit polls have predicted a big win for the alliance in the state.

For the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, Republic- Jan Ki Baat has predicted 216-230 seats, NEWSX-POLSTRAT has predicted 188-220 seats, India Today-Axis says the alliance is likely to win on 166-194 seats, News18-IPSOS says 243 seats, ABP C-Voter predicts win on 192-216 seats, while Times Now ‘s exit poll has predicted a win on 230 seats.

7:05 pm IST

216-230 seats for BJP-Shiv Sena, predicts Republic- Jan Ki Baat

Exit poll predictions of Republic- Jan Ki Baat are also out. It has predicted that the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance will win approximately 216-230 seats, Congress- NCP are likely to bag 52-59 seats, while 8-12 may go to others contesting parties.

7:00 pm IST

NEWSX-POLSTRAT predicts big win BJP-Shiv Sena alliance

The NEWSX-POLSTRAT exit poll has predicted a big win for BJP-Shiv Sena alliance in the state of Maharashtra with an expected win on 188-220 seats, while it has predicted 74-89 seats for Congress-NCP. Six to ten seats will go other parties, NEWSX-POLSTRAT has predicted.

6:55 pm IST

India Today-Axis exit poll predicts 72-90 seats for Congress-NCP alliance

According to India Today-Axis exit poll, the Congress- NCP alliance in Maharashtra is expected to win 72-90 seats, while here too the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is leading with an expected win on 166-194 seats.

6:45 pm IST

News18-IPSOS exit poll predicts win for BJP-Shiv Sena alliance

According to News18-IPSOS, BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is leading with an expected win on 243 seats, while the Congress-NCP tie up is trailing with a predicted win on 41 seats.

6:40 pm IST

C-Voter predicts 192-216 seats for BJP- Shiv Sena alliance

ABP C-Voter has predicted 192-216 seats for the BJP- Shiv Sena alliance in Maharashtra, while win on 55-81 seats has been predicted for Congress and NCP alliance.

6:30 pm IST

Times Now Exit Poll predicts 230 seats for BJP-Shiv Sena alliance

Here are the predictions according to Times Now exit poll







OTHERS: 16.40%

6:20 pm IST

BJP looks to retain power

The Bhartiya Janta Party, which is contesting on 164 seats, is looking to seek a second term in the state.

6:15 pm IST

Voting in Maharashtra ends, next up exit polls

Voting in Maharashtra has ended with a voter turnout of 55% , as per data on ECI’s Voter Turnout app. All eyes are

6:05 pm IST

2014 Maharashtra seat share

In 2014, the BJP had won the highest 122 seats, Shiv Sena had won 63, the Congress got 42 while the NCP won 41 seats.

6:00 pm IST

Congress contesting on 147 seats, ally NCP on 121

The Congress- NCP alliance in Maharashtra is contesting on 268 out of 288 assembly seats, out of which the Congress will fight on 147 seats while the NCP has fielded candidates from 121 constituencies.

5:50 pm IST

101 MNS candidates in fray

The (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena) MNS, which is being led by Raj Thackeray, has fielded 101 candidates in the Maharashtra assembly elections 2019.

5:35 pm IST

BJP seeks second term

The BJP is seeking to come to power for a second term in Maharashtra. The party led by chief minister Devendra Fadnavis is contesting on 164 seats, of which 14 are being contested by its smaller allies. Shiv Sena is contesting from 124 seats out of the 288 seats in the assembly.

5:25 pm IST

Voters to seal fate of 3237 candidates in Maharashtra

As millions of voters cast their ballot in the Maharashtra assembly election today, they will be deciding the fate of 3237 candidates who are in the poll fray.

5:15 pm IST

45% voter turnout in Maharashtra by 5 pm

By 5 pm, 45% voters turned up to cast their vote for Maharashtra assembly election. The voter turnout data is in accordance ECI’s Voter Turnout app.

5:00 pm IST

TV channels to air exit polls shortly

Voting in Maharashtra will end at 6 pm and after a mandatory gap of half an hour, TV channels will begin airing exit polls.