New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 23, 2020-Sunday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Assembly Elections / BJP’s Jitender Mahajan wins Rohtas Nagar Assembly seat

BJP’s Jitender Mahajan wins Rohtas Nagar Assembly seat

In Delhi assembly election results 2020, BJP candidate Jitender Mahajan bagged a win. He was fighting against Congress candidate Vipin Sharma and BJP candidate Jitender Mahajan.

assembly-elections Updated: Feb 11, 2020 18:46 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
A person is casting vote (representational image).
A person is casting vote (representational image). (HT File Photo)

From Rohtas Nagar Assembly seat BJP candidate Jitender Mahajan wins in Delhi Assembly Election 2020. Mahajan contested under ticket of Bharatiya Janata Party. According to Election Commission website, Mahajan is a social worker.

Delhi went to poll on February 8, 2020, to elect a new government. The current Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) completes its term on February 22, 2020. The voting happened in a total of 70 assembly constituencies and one of them is Rohtas Nagar Assembly seat. It’s a part of North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2015 Delhi assembly elections, ten candidates contested from the Rohtas Nagar seat. This year, there were nine candidates who contested from different parties. They are:

Jitender Mahajan - Bharatiya Janata Party

Vipin Sharma - Indian National Congress

Sarita Singh - Aam Aadmi Party

Trivender - Bahujan Samaj Party

Manish Kumar - Nyay Party

Anupam Sharma - Independent

Pankaj Gupta – Independent

Mukesh Babu Saxena - Independent

Sanjeev Kumar - Aapki Apni Party (Peoples)

The sitting MLA of Rohtas Nagar constituency is Sarita Singh of Aam Aadmi Party. In 2015, she contested against BJP’s Jitender Mahajan and secured 62,209 votes. While Mahajan got 54,335 votes, INC’s Vipin Sharma received 15,548 votes. During Delhi Elections 2020, the three parties BJP, INC, and AAP have fielded the same candidates.

In 2015, Rohtas Nagar had 1,91,580 registered voters. Out of the total number, 1,01,777 were male voters and 89,793 female. In previous election, NOTA (None of The Above) was 0.2 per cent.

Get Latest Updates, Top News on Delhi Assembly Election on Hindustan Times.