Union Cabinet approves two new Delhi Metro corridors | Latest News Delhi - Hindustan Times

Union Cabinet approves two new Delhi Metro corridors

Mar 13, 2024 07:18 PM IST

Union minister Anurag Thakur said that the new Delhi Metro corridors are expected to be completed by 2029 and get a daily ridership of 250,000

The Union Cabinet on Wednesday approved two new Metro corridors for Delhi estimated to cost Rs.8,399 crore, Union minister Anurag Thakur said on Wednesday. The corridors are expected to be completed by 2029 and get a daily ridership of 250000, he said.

The new stations will be both elevated and underground. (HT PHOTO/Representative)
The new stations will be both elevated and underground. (HT PHOTO/Representative)

“It [the corridors] will reduce congestion and pollution and fossil fuel imports. Commuters will save time and travel costs. In all, the ease of living will improve,” Thakur added.

Now catch your favourite game on Crickit. Anytime Anywhere. Find out how

The Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block (eight km) and Inderlok-Indraprastha (12-km extension of the Green line) corridors will be built under phase four of the Delhi Metro network.

The first corridor will have eight stations at Lajpat Nagar, Andrews Ganj, Greater Kailash–1, Chirag Delhi, Pushpa Bhawan, Saket District Centre, Pushp Vihar, Saket G Block.

Inderlok, Daya Basti, Sarai Rohilla, Ajmal Khan Park, Nabi Karim, New Delhi, LNJP Hospital, Delhi Gate, Delhi Sachivalaya, and Indraprastha will be the stations on the Inderlok-Indraprastha section.

In a statement, the Union housing and urban affairs ministry said the Inderlok station will be elevated. The remaining stations on the Inderlok–Indraprastha corridor will be underground. On the Lajpat Nagar–Saket-G Block corridor, all the stations will elevated.

The corridors will increase the number of interchange stations on the Metro network—Lajpat Nagar (Violet and Pink Lines), Chirag Delhi (Magenta Line), Saket G Block (Golden Line), Inderlok (Green and Red Lines), Nabi Karim (Magenta Line), New Delhi ( Yellow and Orange Lines), Delhi Gate (Violet Line) and Indraprastha (Blue Line).

With the two new approved lines, the number of interchange stations will go up from the existing 29 to 48, considerably improving connectivity across the city and facilitating shorter transfers between different Metro Lines, officials aware of the development said.

This includes 11 new interchange stations on the already approved and under-construction Phase-4 lines -Aerocity-Tughlakabad, RK Ashram-Janakpuri West and Majlis Park-Maujpur. Eight more stations will be added through the two lines approved by the Centre on Wednesday.

With this, Delhi is also set to get two more triple interchange stations at Lajpat Nagar and New Delhi. While the former will connect the new Lajpat Nagar-Saket G block line with the Pink and Violet lines, New Delhi will connect the extended Green line corridor with the Airport Express and Yellow line. This will further improve connectivity from the western part of Delhi to the IGI airport via New Delhi and the Airport Express line.

At present, there is only one triple interchange station across the Delhi metro network – Kashmere Gate, linking the Violet, Red and Yellow lines. A second triple interchange is being built at Azadpur as part of the under-construction Phase-4 corridor from RK Ashram to Janakpuri West. Azadpur will connect the Pink, Yellow and Magenta lines, officials mentioned above said.

Get World Cup ready with Crickit! From live scores to match stats, catch all the action here. Explore now!

Stay updated with all top Cities including, Bengaluru, Delhi, Mumbai and more across India. Stay informed on the latest happenings in World News
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On