Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 21, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Droughts, Maoists have hurt Palamu seat in Jharkhand

Polling in Jharkhand will be held in four phases from April 29 to May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 24, 2019 18:26 IST
New Delhi
Palamu Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Palamu Profile,Jharkhand General Elections 2019
Ghaziabad India - March 14, 2019: A view of an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and Voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT), at DM office, in Ghaziabad, India, on Thursday, March 14, 2019. The members of the federation of association of apartment owners will request contesting candidates to give affidavits which will include time line of the works which the candidate promises in their area. (Photo by Sakib Ali / Hindustan Times)

The Palamu Lok Sabha seat, which is spread over two districts of Palamu and Garhwa in Jharkhand, is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes.

The parliamentary constituency comprising six assembly segments, Daltonganj Sadar, Chatterpur (SC), Hussainabad, Bhawnathpur, Bishrampur and Garhwa, has seen seven droughts in the past decade and witnessed feudal social structure, subsequent left wing extremism (LWE) and backwardness.

Candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) and a top Maoists leader, who contested on a Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) ticket, have won this seat during the last three Lok Sabha elections and a by-poll held since Jharkhand came into existence.

In 2004, RJD leader Manoj Kumar became the member of Parliament. In 2009, a top Maoist leader Kameshwar Baitha defeated the RJD’s Ghuran Ram who had won the by-election in 2007. The BJP came to power after former Jharkhand director general of police (DGP) Vishnu Dayal Ram won against the RJD’s Kumar by a huge margin in 2014.

Polling in Jharkhand will be held in four phases from April 29 to May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here are a few details about the Palamu Lok Sabha seat:

State: Jharkhand

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Palamu

Polling date: April 29

2019 candidates: Vishnu Dayal Ram (BJP), Ghuran Ram (RJD), Anjana Bhuiyan (BSP)

Sitting MP, party: Vishnu Dayal Ram, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 263,942

Runner up name, party: Manoj Kumar, RJD

Number of voters in 2014: 977,323

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 59.38%

Number of women voters in 2014: 540,261

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,932

First Published: Apr 24, 2019 18:26 IST