International Cricket Council to impose 6 Test or 12 ODI ban for ball tampering

The International Cricket Council have decided to ban ball tampering offenders for 6 Test matches or 12 ODI encounters.

cricket Updated: Jul 03, 2018 02:22 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Dublin
International Cricket Council,ball tampering,ball tampering ban
Faf du Plessis has called for the International Cricket Council (ICC) to dish out tougher punishments for players found guilty of ball tampering.(Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) will impose a ban of minimum six Tests or 12 ODIs on ball tampering offenders as it has now been upgraded as a Level 3 offence as per it’s new code of conduct.

The decision was taken at its Annual Conference in Dublin which concluded on Monday.

Another significant development is the sanction on number of private T20 leagues that a player might be allowed to participate so that there is no compromise when it comes to national duty.

However the most significant development certainly was tougher sanctions for poor player behaviour.

READ | Pressure on England, India to play fearless cricket: Virat Kohli

The ball tampering incident involving Steve Smith and David Warner has forced ICC to upgrade it as Level 3 offence which will carry 12 suspension points.

The 12 suspension points is equivalent to a ban of 6 Tests or 12 ODIs from the earlier 1 Test and 2 ODIs.

The new offence added as Level 1 is the audible obscenity if anything is heard on the stump microphone.

Meanwhile ICC wants to reign in on T20 freelancers who are trading national duty in order to play domestic leagues.

While ICC didn’t clarify how many leagues a player can take part, it is understood to be not more than 3.

First Published: Jul 02, 2018 23:54 IST