Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mohammed Shami replaces Hardik Pandya in World XI squad for Lord’s T20

Mohammed Shami was named as the replacement for Hardik Pandya in the World XI squad which will face West Indies in the T20 fund-raiser at Lord’s.

cricket Updated: May 28, 2018 18:53 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Dubai
Mohammed Shami,Hardik Pandya,World XI squad
Mohammed Shami replaced Hardik Pandya in the World XI squad that will face West Indies in the T20 fund-raiser at Lord’s. (AFP)

India fast bowler Mohammed Shami has replaced an indisposed Hardik Pandya in the ICC World XI squad for the May 31 T20 International against the West Indies at Lord’s.

England wrist-spinner Adil Rashid has also been added to the World XI squad.

All the proceeds from this match will be used to redevelop the stadia in the Caribbean, which were damaged due to hurricanes last year.

READ | Afghanistan pacer Dawlat Zadran out of India Test due to knee injury

Shami has replaced all-rounder Pandya, who has pulled out due to a viral inflection, and will join Dinesh Karthik as the second India player in the side which also includes one player each from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka, and two players each from New Zealand and Pakistan.

Rashid is the second England player in the star-studded line-up after Eoin Morgan was named as the captain. The 30-year-old Rashid has played 28 T20Is in which he has taken 23 wickets. He was also a member of the England side for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, where the home side reached the semi-final.

READ | Michael Atherton ‘highly sceptical’ of England, Australia spot-fixing claims

Shami has represented India in seven T20Is in which he has picked up eight wickets, while he also featured in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 when India finished as runners-up.

ICC World XI: Eoin Morgan (captain) (England), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Dinesh Karthik (India), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Luke Ronchi (New Zealand), Adil Rashid (England) and Mohammed Shami (India).

First Published: May 28, 2018 18:52 IST