Ranji Trophy: Rajneesh Gurbani’s 7/68 at Eden helps Vidarbha reach maiden final

Rajneesh Gurbani complete the last rites as Vidarbha scored a thrilling five-run win over Karnataka to clinch their maiden berth in the final of the Ranji Trophy

cricket Updated: Dec 21, 2017 12:03 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Rajneesh Gurbani,Ranji Trophy,Ranji Trophy final
Rajneesh Gurbani ended with figures of 7/68 in Karnataka’s second innings as Vidarbha reached their first ever Ranji Trophy final.(PTI)

Rajneesh Gurbani picked seven wickets in the second innings as Vidarbha booked their place in the final of the Ranji Trophy for the first time in history after a thrilling five-run win over Karnataka in their semifinal clash at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday.

Resuming their innings at 111/7 on Day 5 of the match, with a target of 198, Karnataka were staring down the barrel on Thursday morning. However, captain R Vinay Kumar combined with Shreyas Gopal to keep his side alive in the tie.

READ | Kulwant Khejroliya goes from waiting tables to Delhi’s enforcer in Ranji Trophy

Vinay was eventually removed by Rajneesh Gurbani, but Gopal got together with Abhimanyu Mithun in another rescue act.

Just when Karnataka seemed set for a stunning comeback win, Gurbani turned the table with two wickets in quick succession to seal victory.

Gurbani, who had picked five wickets in the first innings, continued his form in the second innings and made the most of the Eden Gardens wicket to peg back Karnataka.

A medium pacer, Gurbani has played a total of 9 first class matches, picking 44 wickets in total, with an average of 19.36.

Earlier, Vidarbha had posted 185 in the first innings, to which Karnataka responded with a total of 301, Karun Nair scoring 153 in that innings.

READ | Aggression key in Delhi’s march to Ranji Trophy final: Manoj Prabhakar

In Vidarbha’s second innings, Ganesh Satish scored 81 to take the team to a total of 313.

In the final, Vidarbha will take on Delhi, who defeated Bengal by an innings and 26 runs in the other semifinal.

In that match, Gautam Gambhir and Kunal Chandela’s centuries had taken Delhi to a first innings total of 398 in response to Bengal’s 286. Bengal meekly surrendered with a second innings total of 86 to suffer an innings defeat.

First Published: Dec 21, 2017 11:16 IST