Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid want Indian cricket team to play Champions Trophy

Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid are among a group of former cricketers who want the Indian cricket team to participate in the ICC Champions Trophy, scheduled to take place in England from June 1.

cricket Updated: May 04, 2017 19:55 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Sachin Tendulkar,Rahul Dravid,Champions Trophy 2017
The ICC Champions Trophy will be played in England next month. Defending champions India’s first game is against Pakistan in Birmingham on June 4.(AFP )

On a day when the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators urged the BCCI to announce the squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy, a number of former cricketers voiced their opinion in favour of the same, according to a report on ESPNCricinfo.

(Read |ICC Champions Trophy: Administrators slam BCCI’s negative, combative approach)

“All the players ESPNcricinfo contacted - Tendulkar, Dravid, Zaheer Khan, Gundappa Viswanath, Sandeep Patil, Sanjay Manjrekar, Aakash Chopra, Ajit Agarkar, Venkatesh Prasad, Saba Karim, Murali Kartik, and Deep Dasgupta - were unanimous in their opinion that India should attempt to defend the Champions Trophy title that they won in 2013,” the report stated.

(Read | ICC Champions Trophy: Select Indian cricket team, SC administrators order BCCI)

While the other seven teams in the tournament have already confirmed their squads so far, India are yet to confirm their participation. The CoA has asked them to make necessary preparations to send the team to England. The BCCI had even threatened to boycott the championship after the existing ‘Big Three’ revenue model, brought into effect in 2014, was proposed to be changed.

(Read | Gautam Gambhir deserves to be part of Champions Trophy squad: Sourav Ganguly)

However, in a letter sent to the members of the board, the CoA ensured that such speculations should be put to rest as soon as possible with the tournament less than a month away. A final decision on India’s participation will however be taken at the board’s special general body meeting in Delhi on May 7.

India had won the previous edition back in 2013 when they defeated England in the final by five runs. 

First Published: May 04, 2017 18:17 IST