Shashank Manohar defers resignation, to remain ICC chief for time being

Shashank Manohar, the former Board of Control for Cricket in India chief, said that although the decision to quit ICC had not changed, he is willing to continue for the time being

cricket Updated: Mar 24, 2017 15:35 IST
Shashank Manohar,cricket,International Cricket Council
ICC chief Shashank Manohar has deferred his decision to step down as the International Cricket Council chairman following the executive board’s resolution.(AFP)

Acceding to the request of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Board, its chairman Shashank Manohar on Friday agreed to defer his resignation. The ICC said on its website, “In a significant show of support for Mr Manohar, the Board asked him to withdraw his resignation or at the very least defer it until the ongoing process relating to governance and financial restructuring are completed”.

Read more | Shashank Manohar’s resignation may have epicentre in Mumbai

Commenting on the decision Manohar said, “I respect the sentiments expressed by the Directors and the confidence they have reposed in me. In the light of this, and although my decision to depart due to personal reasons has not changed, I am willing to continue as Chairman till the responsibility as per the resolution is complete.

Read more | Shashank Manohar quits International Cricket Council, cites ‘personal reasons’

“I have duty to work with my colleagues to enable a smooth transition and continue our work on the governance of the ICC.”

Read more | Won’t sacrifice India’s riches in world cricket, vow BCCI administrators

Cricket Australia chairman David Peever said, “This resolution is a clear indication that whilst the Board may not yet agree on the detail of our reform process, we are committed to the overarching philosophies of it. We all believe that Shashank should be the man to see it through and whilst respectful of a decision made for personal reasons, we are delighted that he has agreed to remain in post until the completion of the 2017 Annual Conference where we can elect a successor.”

First Published: Mar 24, 2017 15:31 IST