New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Nov 22, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019

MCD election: AAP fails to work magic where votes rained for Delhi ministers in 2015

MCD polls: Aam Aadmi Party mostly failed to win the wards located in the constituencies of Delhi ministers who had easily cornered the BJP and Congress in the assembly polls in 2015.

delhi Updated: Apr 27, 2017 11:29 IST
Vibha Sharma and Sweta Goswami
Vibha Sharma and Sweta Goswami
Hindustan Times
Three of the four wards in Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia’s assembly constituency - Patparganj - were pocketed by the BJP .
Three of the four wards in Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia’s assembly constituency - Patparganj - were pocketed by the BJP .(Sushil Kumar/HT Photo)

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) finished a distinct second in the municipal elections, with most Delhi cabinet ministers failing to lead candidates in wards of their assembly constituencies to victory.

Deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia, who in the 2015 Assembly elections had won by an overwhelming majority, struggled to save the fours wards that fall in his constituency. The party managed to win Vinod Nagar Ward with a difference of only 151 votes, while the BJP pocketed Mandawali, Patparganj and Mayur Vihar 2 wards.

Delhi’s power and transport minister Satyendar Jain also put up a poor show with all three wards — Paschim Vihar, Rani Bagh and Saraswati Vihar — in his constituency (Shakur Basti) going to the BJP.

Likewise, water minister Kapil Mishra’s constituency Karawal Nagar was swept by the BJP with wards such as Sonia Vihar, Karawal Nagar West, Sadatpur and Ram Nagar voting for the BJP. Only one ward, Khajoori Khas, was won by the AAP.

Labour minister Gopal Rai, who on Wednesday blamed AAP’s poor show on faulty EVMs, managed to win two out of four wards. In his constituency, the BJP won in Babarpur and Janta Colony, while AAP pocketed Subhash Mohalla and Kadampuri.

In south Delhi, former law minister and Malviya Nagar MLA Somnath Bharti also failed to make a mark as all three wards in his area went to the BJP. BJP’s Nandini Sharma managed to become a councillor from Malviya Nagar ward this time, after losing both in the 2012 MCD elections and 2015 Assembly polls. Other wards like Hauz Khaz and Safdarjung was also won by the BJP.

MLA from Greater Kailash (GK) and AAP spokesperson, Saurabh Bhardwaj, could save only one ward, Chirag Delhi, where he himself stays. The remaining two — GK and Chittaranjan Park (CR Park) — was taken by BJP.

Vidhan Sabha speaker Ram Niwas Goel’s constituency completely rejected the AAP in all four wards falling under his leadership. The wards were either won by the BJP or the Congress. Dilshad Colony, Vivek Vihar and Shahdara went to BJP while Jhilmil was won by the Congress.


In Rajouri Garden assembly constituency, which had seen a bypoll last month, the BJP continued with its winning spree. The party won two out of the four wards in the constituency. These include Rajouri Garden — where Balram Kumar Oberoi won — and Vishnu Garden where Satpal Kharwal was the winner. Tagore Garden was bagged by AAP’s Kiran Chadda, whereas, Khyala went to the Congress.