Ex-bureaucrats, women & fresh faces likely to power Yogi govt 2.0. Check list of probables

Written by Aryan Prakash
Mar 15, 2022 10:32 PM IST

Uttar Pradesh chief minister-designate recently met Prime Minister Narendra Modi to discuss government formation in the state. The BJP has appointed home minister Amit Shah and national vice president Raghubar Das to oversee the government formation in the state

The new Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh is likely to be formed along the lines of Modi cabinet at the Centre. With the government formation efforts in full swing, Hindustan has learnt that the new cabinet will comprise bureaucrats who won elections on BJP ticket and more women ministers.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has appointed home minister Amit Shah and national vice-president Raghubar Das to oversee the election of leader of legislative party. With Yogi Adityanath becoming the first UP chief minister to be re-elected for a second straight term, all eyes are now on who will be in his double engine sarkar 2.0.

Bureaucrats-turned netas to make the cut

Railways minister Ashwini Vaishnav, petroleum minister Hardeep Singh Puri, steel minister RCP Singh are among the ex-bureaucrats in the union cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Speculations are rife about few bureaucrats making into Team Yogi 2.0 as well. Among them is Asim Arun, former IPS officer who defeated three-time Samajwadi Party MLA Anil Kumar Dohrey from Kannauj Sadar. The former Kanpur top cop had taken voluntary retirement from service in January and joined the BJP.

Former IAS officer-turned MLC AK Sharma is among the probable ministers in the Yogi cabinet. Having served as PM Modi's secretary when the latter was Gujarat chief minister, Sharma was appointed UP BJP vice president last year.

Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi.
Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi.

Former Enforcement Directorate joint director Rajeshwar Singh's name is also doing the rounds. The former probe agency officer, who headed investigations into the high profile cases like the 2G spectrum allocation case, the 2010 Commonwealth Games case, won the Sarojini Nagar seat in Lucknow, defeating Samajwadi Party's candidate Abhishek Mishra.

Mega ‘Naari Shakti’ push

The new Yogi Adityanath cabinet is expected to be bolstered by more women ministers this time. The BJP believes that the women voters have been instrumental in its successes in elections across the country. Setting its eyes on the big 2024 Lok Sabha poll battle, the number of women ministers is likely to go up from existing tally of four.

New faces in cabinet

The new cabinet is likely to have fresh faces taking major policy decisions for the state. Amit Agrawal, Baby Rani Maurya, Anjula Mahaur, Rajesh Tripathi, Krishna Paswan are the BJP MLAs who could make the cut. The winning candidates from allies like Nishad Party chief Dr Sanjay Nishad and Ashish Singh Patel might be sworn-in as ministers.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 24, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals