Anupam Kher reacts to Kashmir Files snub at Filmfare Awards | Bollywood - Hindustan Times

Anupam Kher pens cryptic note about ‘saste log' after The Kashmir Files doesn't win any Filmfare Award

Apr 28, 2023 12:50 PM IST

Anupam Kher has shared a cryptic tweet about ‘respect’ hours after the Filmfare Awards on Thursday where The Kashmir Files did not win any award.

Anupam Kher has shared a cryptic tweet after his film The Kashmir Files was snubbed at the Filmfare Awards held in Mumbai on Thursday. The film was nominated in multiple categories including Anupam being nominated for Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male), which was eventually won by Rajkummar Rao for Badhaai Do. The film seems to have been snubbed at the awards ceremony due to director Vivek Agnihotri's refusal to accept the awards. He had written a long note ahead of the event, calling Filmfare “unethical and anti-cinema awards”. Also read: Filmfare Awards complete list of winners: Gangubai Kathiawadi, Badhaai Do dominate

Anupam Kher has shared a cryptic tweet regarding The Kashmir Files.
Anupam Kher has shared a cryptic tweet regarding The Kashmir Files.

Taking to Twitter on Friday, Anupam shared a quote that read: "Izzat ek mehenga tohfa hai, uski ummeed saste logo se na karein (Respect is a precious prize, don't expect it from cheap people)." He shared it with the hashtag The Kashmir Files.

Anupam Kher shared a tweet post Filmfare Awards.
Anupam Kher shared a tweet post Filmfare Awards.

Singer Shivang Upadhyay commented on his tweet, “Box-office, logo ke appreciation aur pyar se bada award koi bhi nhi hai (no award is bigger than box office, people's appreciation and love).” A person tweeted in Hindi, “#TheKashmirFiles has garnered respect from the audience, a few awards cannot be a criteria of respect).” Another wrote, “Agnihotri ne mana kiya tha Kher saab (Vivek Agnihotri had refused to accept the award).”

The Kashmir Files was up for win in 6-7 categories including Best Film, Best Screenplay and Vivek Agnihotri being nominated in the Best Director category. Cast members Mithun Chakraborty and Darshan Kumar were also nominated in the Best Supporting Actor category for the film.

The Best Film went to Alia Bhatt-starrer Gangubai Kathiawadi, directed by Sanjay Leela Bhansali. He also won the Best Director award at the event. Mithun Chakraborty and Darshan Kumar lost to Anil Kapoor who won the Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) award for Jugjugg Jeeyo. The Best Screenplay award went to Akshat Ghildial, Suman Adhikary and Harshavardhan Kulkarni for Badhaai Do.

Vivek had penned a long note ahead of the Filmfare Awards against the star system and written, “Therefore, as my protest and dissent against a corrupt, unethical and sycophant establishment of Bollywood, I have decided to not accept such awards. I refuse to be part of any oppressive and corrupt system or awards which treats writers, directors and other HODs & crew members of a film inferior to and/or as slaves to stars.”

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!.

Get more updates from Bollywood, Taylor Swift, Hollywood, Music and Web Series along with Latest Entertainment News at Hindustan Times.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, July 26, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On