Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 27, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Trinamool rules Ranaghat seat in West Bengal

Voting will be held during the fourth round of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election 2019 on April 29.

constituency watch Updated: Mar 19, 2019 18:06 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Ranaghat Profile,West Bengal General Elections 2019
Rajasthan, India – August 17, 2015: Women voters wait to cast their votes during Municipal Corporation polls at a polling booth of Chomu, in Jaipur, Rajasthan, India on Monday, August 17, 2015.(Prabhakar Sharma/ Hindustan Times)

Ranaghat parliamentary constituency was created from the Nabadwip Lok Sabha seat in 2008 under the orders of the Delimitation Commission in respect of the boundary delimitation of constituencies in West Bengal.

The Trinamool Congress has held Ranaghat, a seat reserved for members of the Scheduled Castes, since the first Lok Sabha election was held in 2009 after the delimitation.

Trinamool’s Sucharu Ranjan Haldar won the 2009 Lok Sabha election against the Communist Party of India(Marxist) and Tapas Mandal defeated the Left’s Archana Biswas in the next general election held in 2014.

This time, the ruling party in West Bengal has decided to field Rupali Biswas from the Ranaghat Lok Sabha seat.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Voting will be held during the fourth round of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election 2019 on April 29. The result will be declared on May 23.

Here are some facts about Ranaghat Lok Sabha seat:

State: West Bengal

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Ranaghat

Sitting MP, party: Tapas Mandal, Trinamool

Winning margin in 2014: 201,767

Runner up name, party: Archana Biswas, CPI(M)

Number of voters in 2014: 1,353,196

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 84.42%

Number of women voters in 2014: 771,531

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,944

First Published: Mar 19, 2019 17:58 IST