New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 20, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019

BJP secures five out of eight municipal council prez seats in Indore district

Maintaining its winning momentum, the ruling BJP emerged victorious in five out of eight municipal council president seats. In Indore district, counting for eight municipal councils was held on Sunday.

indore Updated: Dec 08, 2014 16:28 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
BJP-workers-celebrate-the-party-s-victory-in-municipal-elections-at-the-party-office-in-Indore-on-Sunday-Shankar-Mourya-HT-photo( )

Maintaining its winning momentum, the ruling BJP emerged victorious at five out of eight municipal council president seats. At Indore district, counting for eight municipal councils namely Rau, Betma, Mhowgaon, Manpur, Hatod, Sanwer, Depalpur and Gautampura was held on Sunday.

At Rau municipal council, Shivnarayan Dingu of BJP defeated Manoj Sule of Congress; Rekha Shukla at Mhowgaon and Dharamveer Singh of BJP recorded victory by big margin of 2581 and 1816 votes respectively. Gautampura and Manpur went to BJP pocket. For Congress, Depalpur, Sanwer and Hatod voted in favour of the party as Chandrajeet Yadav, Kanta Choudhary and Sushila Parmar defeated their opponents.

Mixed luck for all at Ujjain
Counting for Ujjain district’s Nagda and Mahidpur municipality along with Unhel municipal council were held on Sunday. Defying his own party leader Premchand Guddu’s charges, Congress candidate for Mahidpur municipality chairman Kayyum Nagori emerged victorious in the elections by a margin of 72 votes after recounting. Earlier, BJP’s Kailash Soni was declared winner, but Congress workers demanded recounting and followed by this, Nagori declared winner.

Before election, Guddu is peeved with the ticket distribution of the Congress party for the civic polls and has charged that Nagori is a Students Islamic Movement of India (SIMI) activist. At that time, Nagori also threatened to move court against Guddu for defaming him.

At Nagda municipality and Unhel municipal council seat, Ashok Malviya of BJP and former district youth Congress member wife Chayya Patni, who entered into the poll fray as an independent candidate grabbed respective seats.

Congress scores in Dhar
It seems there is a reverse Modi wave in effect among voters here at Badnawar municipal council under Dhar district as Congress managed to win both president and nine wards out of total 18. Contesting for president post here, Abhishek Modi Talla defeated Dharmendra Sharma of BJP by margin of 1896 votes. On wards basis, Congress scored victory at nine, while six and three went to BJP and independent pocket.

Congress loses in Khargone
At Khargone, home town of Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee chief Arun Yadav, BJP once again defeated Congress as Vipin Gore of BJP defeated his nearest rival belongs to Congress party Advocate Shantilal Patidar by whopping margin of 10062 votes. Besides, out of 33 wards, BJP managed to ensure victory at 20 wards followed by 12 to Congress and one for independent candidate.

BJP grabs two more seats
At Shajapur district’s Shujalpur municipality and Pankheri municipal council president posts, BJP candidates emerged as winners. Leading party at Shujalpur, Sandeep Sanse defeated his rival and Congress candidate Mahendra Nahar, while at Pankheri, Anita Soni of BJP got president post.

Independent Daseda pushes BJP, Cong in Ratlam
In Ratlam district, Jaora municipality results surprised many as Anil Daseda who contested local body election as independent candidate won the president poll by margin of 3529 votes. Daseda, who couldn’t vote as police arrested him on charge of violation of code of conduct before he could vote, defeated BJP’s Abhay Kothair and Congress party candidate Sushil Kochatta.

At ward level, BJP managed to get 16 out of 30, while Congress got 10 and remaining four went to Independents.

At municipal council polls held at Taal, Badawada and Alote, BJP captured two seats namely Taal and Badawada. Alot municipal council results brought some relief for Congress as Vishnukunwar Solanki of Congress emerged winner by margin of 1095 votes.

First Published: Dec 08, 2014 16:00 IST

more from indore