Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017 Review: MI continue to rule, RCB hit new low

Mumbai Indians (MI) clinched their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title while Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) failed to gain any momentum.

ipl 2017 Updated: May 23, 2017 17:08 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
New Delhi
IPL 2017,Mumbai Indians,Royal Challengers Bangalore
Mumbai Indians captain Rohit sharma receives the IPL 2017 trophy after their victory over Rising Pune Supergiant. (PTI)

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians clinched their third Indian Premier League title in a nail-biting finish against Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL 2017 final in Hyderabad on Sunday.

In terms of numbers, a total of 705 sixes were hit by 93 batsmen while 102 batsmen hit 1608 fours in 118 innings of 59 matches.

Mumbai Indians didn’t just win a record third IPL title, they also smashed 117 sixes, the most by a team in the tenth edition of the league.
705 Sixes hit in IPL 10, a jump of 67 from last year’s 638.

Overall, five hundreds were scored with Hashim Amla’s two ending in a losing cause.

Let’s get across to a consolidated list of IPL 2017 in numbers:

Massive Numbers – As many as 18769 runs were scored for the loss of 708 wickets at an average of 26.50 off 2231.4 overs at an economy rate of 8.41 in 118 innings of 59 matches. The abandoned match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad is not included in this tally.

MI rule – Rohit Sharma’s team scored the highest number of runs with 2789 for the loss of 105 wickets.

READ | IPL 2017 final: Team work was integral to Mumbai Indians’ success, says Rohit Sharma

RCB’s another low – Virat Kohli’s men scored the least number of runs with 1845 for the loss of 97 wickets.

IPL 2016 - A total number of 18862 runs were scored for the loss of 665 wickets at an average of 28.36 off 2269.4 overs at an economy rate of 8.31 in 120 innings of 60 matches last year.

First Published: May 23, 2017 16:59 IST