One man, one post: BJP to ask 7 leaders to quit party positions

Rajasthan BJP president said the state BJP wants to follow the 'one person, one post' criterion strictly. There has been delay because of repeated election processes.
Hindustan Times | By HT Correspondent, Jaipur
UPDATED ON JUL 31, 2015 05:33 PM IST

The Rajasthan-ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to remove some of its leaders in the state, including ministers, from executive posts in compliance of the ‘one person, one post’ criterion.

In a late night move, the party on Wednesday night removed Tonk district president Satya Narayan Chaudhary from the post, as he has also been elected as the chairman of Tonk district council in the local body polls. The party appointed Ganesh Mahur as the new district president.

The party has identified seven other leaders, including minister of state (independent charge) for women and child development Anita Bhadel and minister of state for transport Babulal Verma, who are holding positions in the party and as well as in the government, said state BJP president Ashok Parnami. Bhadel at present holds the position of vice president and Verma the post of general secretary in the party.

Party vice president Mahendra Bohra will also have to let go of the post as he has been elected as chairman of Pali municipal council. The district presidents of Bikaner, Bikaner (rural), Udaipur (rural) and Bhilwara would also be removed from the party positions as they have been elected to various government positions.

“We want to follow the (one person, one post) criterion strictly. There has been delay because of repeated election processes. Only those who are elected or nominated on the government positions are covered under this criterion,” said Parnami.

The MLA said the identified position holders would be removed after the August 17 local body polls. The party would decide the tickets for the local body polls on August 2 and 3 for which core committees have been formed at the district levels.

Parnami said the core committees would select three names for a post and one of the names would be finalised at the state executive level.

Meanwhile, the BJP appointed Madhu Sharma from Kota as the new state president of Mahila Morcha on Thursday. Sharma has been associated with the minority cell of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh in Kota.

Story Saved