New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Nov 19, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019

Jabalpur Election Results 2019: BJP banks on sitting MP to retain Balaghat in Madhya Pradesh

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh. The BJP has retained the Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency since 1996.

constituency-watch Updated: May 23, 2019 14:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
A election official tallies the candidates’ names on an Electronic Voting Machines.
A election official tallies the candidates’ names on an Electronic Voting Machines.(Arijit Sen/HT Photo)

Jabalpur is one of the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh.

Since 1996, the Jabalpur Parliamentary constituency has been a BJP seat with Dada Baburao Paranjape winning it for the party at that time. Subsequently, the party has retained its hold on the seat with Rakesh Singh having won it in 2014, having defeated Vivek Krishna Tankha of the Congress by a margin of 208,639 votes.

This time around, the BJP has once again nominated Rakesh Singh as its candidate against Congress’s Vivek Tankha. Rakesh Singh is presently in the lead while Vivek Tankha trails.

Read: Lok Sabha Election Results Live Updates

The general elections were held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes takes place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Jabalpur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Jabalpur

Contesting Candidates: Rakesh Singh (BJP), Vivek Krishna Tankha (Congress)

Date of polling: April 29

Sitting MP, Party: Rakesh Singh, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 208,639

Runner up name, party: Vivek Krishna Tankha, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,002,210

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 80

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,814

Number of women voters: 443,567