Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mavelikkara, Kerala

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Mar 17, 2019 03:53 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Mavelikkara, Kerala.

Mavelikkara is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

An Electronic Voting Machine being kept in its case after an election.(HT Photo)
An Electronic Voting Machine being kept in its case after an election.(HT Photo)

Formed in 1960 and spread over three districts, the Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency carries on its shoulders the legacy of being a princely state and culture derived on the banks of river Achankovil.

The United Democratic Front has won the constituency 10 times in the past. The only one time that the UDF was defeated by the Left Democratic Front (LDF) since 1989 was in 2004 when CS Sujatha of the CPI(M) defeated Congress’s Ramesh Chennithala with a slim margin of 7,414 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

In 2008, after the delimitation exercise, the Mavelikkara constituency was reserved for the Scheduled Caste community .

In 2014, the Congress’s Kodikkunnil Suresh had handed the CPI’s Chengara Surendran a sound defeat with a margin of 32,737 votes

In the 2016 assembly election, the LDF had come out victorious in five of the seven assembly segments in the Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency, indicating a possible tilt towards the Left.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Mavelikkara

Sitting MP, Party: Kodikunnil Suresh, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 32,737

Runner up name, party: Chengara Surendran, CPI

Number of voters in 2014: 889,269

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 81

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,147

Number of women voters: 472,091

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, November 19, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals