Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Oldest Lok Sabha candidate in Rajasthan is 76-years-old, youngest is 30

Interestingly, in comparison to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress, the BSP has given ticket to younger candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in Rajasthan.

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 25, 2019 16:00 IST
Urvashi Dev Rawal (Editorial- Jaipur)
Urvashi Dev Rawal (Editorial- Jaipur)
Hindustan Times, Jaipur
lok sabha elections 2019,lok sabha polls in rajasthan,rajasthan LS candidates
Seventy-six-year old Devkinandan Gurjar (left) of Congress is the oldest Lok Sabha candidate in Rajasthan while Laxmikant Bairwa, 30, of BSP is the youngest. (Agencies)

The youngest candidate in the fray of Lok Sabha elections from Rajasthan is Laxmikant Bairwa, 30, who is contesting on a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ticket from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur parliamentary constituency. The oldest candidate from the state is 76-year-old Congress candidate Devkinandan Gurjar, contesting from Rajsamand.

Interestingly, in comparison to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress, the BSP has given ticket to younger candidates. The average age of BSP candidates is 50.76 years, BJP (53.78 years) and 55.8 years for Congress.

Following Bairwa, the four youngest candidates in the state are is Sanjay Kumar, who is the Congress candidate from Karauli-Dholpur seat; Imran Khan from Alwar and Bapulal from Banswara on Bahujan Samaj Party(bsp) ticket. All three are aged 31. Next to them is Prakash Chand Meena, the Bhartiya Tribal Party’s (BTP) candidate from Chittorgah seat.

The two oldest candidates — Devkinandan (Kaka) from Rajsamand and Namonarain Meena, 75, contesting from Tonk-Sawaimadhopur seat — are from Congress. In BJP, oldest candidate is Jaskaur Meena, 72, who is contesting from Dausa.

In BSP, six candidates are under age of 40 who are contesting the elections; in BJP and Congress, two candidates are under 40. Between the age of 40 and 50, BSP has eight candidates, BJP has 10 and Congress has six.

Eight candidates from the BSP are between the age of 50 and 60; in BJP, five candidates are between 50 and 60 years old, and in Congress, seven candidates are aged between 50 and 60. The BSP has three candidates whose age is above 60, BJP has eight and Congress has 10.

The top five youngest candidates from BJP are Baba Balaknath (35) from Alwar, Ranjeeta Koli (39) from Bharatpur, Devji Patel (42) from Jalore, Rahul Kaswan (43) from Churu and CP Joshi (43) from Chittorgarh.

The five youngest candidates from Congress are Sanjay Kumar (31) from Karauli-dholpur seat, Vaibhav Gehlot (38) from Jodhpur, Riju Jhunjhunwala (40) from Alwar, Krishna Poonia (41) from Jaipur Rural and Jyoti Khandelwal (44) from the Jaipur seat.

The three oldest candidates from BJP are Jaskaur Meena, Arjun Meghwal (65) and PP Choudhary (65). Three oldest from Congress are Devkinandan, Namomarain Meena, and Badri Ram Jhakhar (69).

Interestingly, there are two seats — Jhalwara-baran and Nagaur — where the age of BJP and Congress candidates is same. BJP’S Dushyant Singh and Congress candidate Pramod Sharma is 48. Jyoti Mirdha and Hanuman Beniwal (BJP) are 47 years old.

First Published: Apr 25, 2019 14:44 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.