Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India women’s hockey team lose 1-4 to USA in Hockey World League Semi Final

Lilima Minz was the only goal scorer for the Indian women’s hockey team but they suffered a 1-4 loss to USA in the Hockey World League semi-final in Johannesburg

other sports Updated: Jul 10, 2017 23:50 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Lilima Minz,India womens hockey team,USA womens hockey team
Lilima Minz scored a goal for India but it was not enough as the women’s team was thrashed 1-4 by USA in the Hockey World League Semi Final.(HT Photo)

India women’s hockey team were blown away by a dominant performance from USA as they were thrashed 1-4 in the Hockey World League Semi Final in Johannesburg on Monday.

The USA team relentlessly attacked India and kept India’s goalkeeper, Savita busy throughout the game. The USA team won a penalty in only the second minute of the game but Savita put in a great stop to keep the scores level. India themselves won a penalty as Deep Grace Ekka tried an innovative variation but she lacked the power to convert. By the end of the first quarter, both teams were on even terms.

In the second quarter, India managed to win a penalty in the 22nd minute thanks to some exceptional skill from Rani but once again India could not convert. Jill Witmer broke the deadlock in the 24th minute as she scored to help USA take the lead. Buoyed by that goal, the American team tried to extend their lead but Savita continued to have a fine day as the goalkeeper pulled off some stunning saves.

In the third quarter, Lilima Minz got India back to level terms with a neat deflection in the 38th minite. However, this goal served to fuel up the USA’s aggression as Taylor West gave USA the lead in the 40th minute. Witmer scored her second goal to extend the lead to 3-1. The game was put beyond doubt in the fourth quarter aas Michelle Vittese scored in the 49th minute as USA won the contest 4-1.

India will take on Chile on July 12 and they will be aiming to register victory in the contest.

First Published: Jul 10, 2017 23:50 IST