HT Image
HT Image

Jharkhand gets five new sub-divisions

Jharkhand got five new sub-divisions on Monday
Hindustan Times | By HT Correspondent, Ranchi
UPDATED ON MAR 04, 2014 03:20 PM IST

Jharkhand got five new sub-divisions on Monday.

With this, the number of sub-divisions in the state reached 43.

Chief minister Hemant Soren inaugurated the new sub-divisions online.

"Jharkhand is a plateau area. Majority of the people live in remote locations where lack of sub-divisions cause trouble in administrative and development works. The creation of new sub-divisions will serve the purpose to a great extent," Soren said.

While two sub-divisions were created each in Giridih and Gumla districts, Chatra got one sub-division.

Giridih's Khuri Mahua sub-division will get five blocks - Dhanwar, Ganwa, Tisri, Devri and Jamua.

The Dumri sub-division of the district will have four blocks - Bagodar, Saria, Dumri and Birni.

There will be five blocks - Simaria, Tandwa, Lavalaung, Pathalgaddha and Giddaur - in Simaria sub-division of Chatra.

Chainpur sub-division of Gumla got Chainpur, Dumri and Raidih blocks while Basia sub-division of the same district will have Basia, Kamdara and Palkot blocks.

Soren said offices of the sub-divisions would soon be constructed.

"For proper implementation of development and welfare schemes, getting rid of Maoist problems, providing better administration, de-centralisation of administration and reconstitution of the present, administrative units are
needed," Soren said.

Story Saved