3 scientists win Nobel medicine prize for discovering how cells use oxygen

The winners of the 2019 Nobel prize for medicine or physiology were announced on Monday. The coveted award was bagged jointly by three scientists for discovering how cells sense, and adapt to, oxygen availability. Drs. William G. Kaelin Jr of Harvard University, Gregg L. Semenza of Johns Hopkins University, and Peter J. Ratcliffe of the Francis Crick Institute in Britain and Oxford University, will equally share the 9 million kronor, or $918,000 cash award, according to the Karolinska Institute.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals