New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 19, 2020-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Assembly Elections / AAP’s Haji Yunus wins Mustafabad Assembly seat

AAP’s Haji Yunus wins Mustafabad Assembly seat

AAP’s Haji Yunus took an early lead and turned it into a win for Delhi’s Mustafabad Assembly seat. He was contesting against BJP’s Jagdish Pradhan and INC’s Ali Mehdi.

assembly-elections Updated: Feb 11, 2020 18:50 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Officials engaged in counting of votes (representational image).
Officials engaged in counting of votes (representational image). (HT File Photo)

In 2020 Delhi Assembly Election, Haji Yunus contesting under ticket of Aam Aadmi Party wins Mustafabad Assembly seat. In the early trends, AAP’s Haji Yunus took lead but then Jagdish Pradhan of Bharatiya Janata was leading. Finally, Yunus came into lead again and won Mustafabad Assembly seat.

Mustafabad assembly constituency is one of the 70 seats in Delhi and is a part of the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. On February 8, 2020, along with 69 other constituencies Mustafabad went to poll.

In 2015, Mustafabad Assembly constituency had 2,33,426 electors. Out of the total number of electors, 1,29,496 were males and 1,03,923 females. In the 2015 Delhi Assembly polls, Mustafabad witnessed 70.8 per cent voter turnout. That year, nine candidates were contesting for the Mustafabad Assembly seat.

In the Delhi elections 2020 fifteen candidates contested for the Mustafabad Assembly seat. They are:

Jagdish Pradhan – Bharatiya Janata Party

Ali Mehdi - Indian National Congress

Haji Yunus - Aam Aadmi Party

Anil Kumar Gupta - Lok Jan Shakti Party

Mayur Bhan - Nationalist Congress Party

Suresh Kumar Malkani - Bahujan Samaj Party

Imran Matlub Khan - Tipu Sultan Party

Kamal - Hindusthan Nirman Dal

Poonam - Nyay Party

Manish Kumar - Mazdoor Kirayedar Vikas Party

Murari Lal - Aapki Apni Party (Peoples)

Vivek Tomar - National Youth Party

Shama Parveen - Independent

Shiv Kumar - Independent

Subhash – Rashtriya Janmorcha

Mustafabad’s incumbent MLA Jagdish Pradhan of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated Hasan Ahmed of the Congress by the margin of 6,031 votes, in the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections. While Pradhan grabbed 58,388 or 35.3 per cent of the votes, Ahmed secured 52,357 or 31.7 per cent of the votes. Mohd Yunus of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) got the third spot with 10,674 votes.

Also Read | Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020 Live Updates

Get Latest Updates, Top News on Delhi Assembly Election on Hindustan Times.