Swara Bhasker will be seen next in the Eros Now web series Flesh.
Swara Bhasker will be seen next in the Eros Now web series Flesh.

Swara Bhasker says she has ‘lost a lot of work’ because of her opinions: ‘It is a collateral I have come to accept’

Swara Bhasker said that she has lost out on projects because of her opinions and stands. However, she is ‘willing to bear that brunt’.
By HT Entertainment Desk | Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON AUG 19, 2020 02:30 PM IST

Swara Bhasker is fiercely opinionated and does not shy away from airing her anti-establishment views. In an interview, she said that she has lost out on projects because of the stands she takes but has come to accept it as a ‘collateral’.

In an interview with Firstpost, Swara was asked if her opinions have impacted her work. “Yes, of course, there is no denying that, and I have to admit that I have lost a lot of work because of the positions I have taken. But it is fine. It is a collateral that I have come to accept. I don’t seek and I don’t say things from a position of an influence. I am not a paid influencer, I am not paid to say these things. I say these things because I genuinely believe in it. I am willing to bear that brunt,” she said.

Earlier this year, Swara voiced her dissent against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Register of Citizens (NRC), and even took to the streets to protest against them.

Swara said that despite taking the stands she does, she sees herself ‘primarily as an actor’ and not as an activist. She also ruled out the speculation that she is eyeing a career in politics and said that she simply expresses her opinion without any agenda behind it.

Also read: Ankita Lokhande says ‘truth wins’ as SC orders CBI probe into Sushant Singh Rajput’s death

Talking about the trolling and social backlash, Swara admitted that it ‘does bother’ her. “I have had to learn to develop a thick skin for it, which is actually sad because it just shows that you have to desensitise yourself, which is not necessarily a nice thing. But I don’t have a choice because you have to survive. But sometimes, I feel sad that people have forgotten that there is a real human being behind that Twitter or Instagram handle,” she said, adding that she refuses to be ‘silenced’.

Swara was last seen in the Amazon Prime Video series Rasbhari, in which she played a schoolteacher from Meerut. The show was at the centre of a controversy for its tone which was ‘vulgar’, according to some. Her next release, Flesh, is a web series that will premiere on Eros Now on August 21. She will be seen as a cop hunting human traffickers.

Talking about Flesh, Swara had said in a statement, “Human and child trafficking is one of the most damning realities of the world and it’s important that we keep highlighting the issue through the fictional content that we create. I am honoured to be a part of Flesh and given the opportunity to work with the team was an absolute pleasure! For the very first time in my career, I will be seen essaying the role of a cop which I am hoping will be appreciated by fans. They will witness me performing some high-octane action sequences.”

Follow @htshowbiz for more

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
Topics
Close
Tiger Shroff turned 31 on Tuesday.
Tiger Shroff turned 31 on Tuesday.

Watch baby Tiger Shroff calling for world peace, in throwback video on birthday

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 09:38 PM IST
  • Here's a video of almost-baby Tiger Shroff, taking to the stage with his father, Jackie, back in the early 1990s.
Close
Deepika Padukone, in a still from the ad.
Deepika Padukone, in a still from the ad.

Deepika's ad called out for plagiarism by Yeh Ballet director Sooni Taraporevala

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 08:29 PM IST
  • The creatives behind an apparel advertisement featuring Deepika Padukone have been accused of plagiarism by Yeh Ballet filmmaker Sooni Taraporevala, who has called the incident 'intellectual theft'.
Close
The Heropanti 2 and Hitman movie posters, side-by-side.
The Heropanti 2 and Hitman movie posters, side-by-side.

Fans aren't fooled by Tiger's Heropanti 2 look, point out similarities to Hitman

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 07:00 PM IST
  • Fans have once again spotted similarities between Tiger Shroff's character in Heropanti 2, and Agent 47 in the Hitman video game series. A new poster for the film debuted on Tuesday.
Close
Devi featured an ensemble cast including Kajol, Neha Dhupia, Shruti Haasan among others.
Devi featured an ensemble cast including Kajol, Neha Dhupia, Shruti Haasan among others.

Kajol's Devi turns 1, she says the film brings 'a lump to my throat till today'

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 06:27 PM IST
  • Kajol celebrated the completion of one year of her short film, Devi. She mentioned how the film could still make her emotional.
Close
Parineeti Chopra plays Saina Nehwal in the biopic.
Parineeti Chopra plays Saina Nehwal in the biopic.

Twitter fact-checks Parineeti's Saina biopic for incorrect serve on poster

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 06:15 PM IST
  • Several Twitter users pointed out that the poster for the upcoming Saina Nehwal biopic, starring Parineeti Chopra, appears to show an incorrect serve action.
Close
Disha Patani and John Abraham on sets of Ek Villain Returns.(Instagram)
Disha Patani and John Abraham on sets of Ek Villain Returns.(Instagram)

John Abraham, Disha Patani on Ek Villain Returns sets. See pics

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 06:06 PM IST
  • John Abraham and Disha Patani have begun working on their upcoming film, Ek Villain Returns. See pics.
Close
Tiger Shroff and Disha Patani spotted after dinner on Monday night. (Varinder Chawla)
Tiger Shroff and Disha Patani spotted after dinner on Monday night. (Varinder Chawla)

Tiger Shroff, Disha Patani, his mom Ayesha step out for quiet dinner, see pics

UPDATED ON MAR 02, 2021 05:37 PM IST
  • Tiger Shroff, who turned a year older on Tuesday, was spotted with rumoured girlfriend Disha Patani and his mother Ayesha Dutt on a dinner outing.
Close
Ankita Lokhande parties with Rashami Desai.
Ankita Lokhande parties with Rashami Desai.

After calling out Sushant's fans, Ankita Lokhande parties with Rashami Desai

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 05:03 PM IST
  • Ankita Lokhande has shared several pictures and videos from a house party she had with Rashami Desai on Monday.
Close
Shaza Morani and Priyaank Sharma had a court marriage in February.
Shaza Morani and Priyaank Sharma had a court marriage in February.

Shaza Morani, Priyaank Sharma's Hindu wedding postponed with just days to go

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 04:30 PM IST
  • Shaza Morani and Priyaank Sharma's Hindu wedding ceremony has been postponed, in light of the increase in Covid-19 cases in Maharashtra. The couple and their families and friends are currently in the Maldives.
Close
Sharmila Tagore met her granddaughter Inaaya after more than a year.
Sharmila Tagore met her granddaughter Inaaya after more than a year.

After reunion with grandma Sharmila in Pataudi, Inaaya goes on walk with Soha

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 04:29 PM IST
Soha Ali Khan has shared new pictures and videos with her daughter Inaaya, as they took a walk around their ancestral home in Pataudi.
Close
Divya Dutta feels her career has been unconventional.
Divya Dutta feels her career has been unconventional.

Divya Dutta rejects 'supporting actor' label, says men are called 'versatile'

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 04:07 PM IST
  • Divya Dutta has expressed her displeasure at being labeled as a supporting actor, insisting she loves playing all kinds of roles.
Close
The Saina Nehwal biopic has long been in the making.
The Saina Nehwal biopic has long been in the making.

Parineeti Chopra's Saina Nehwal biopic gets release date, watch teaser

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 03:20 PM IST
  • Actor Parineeti Chopra's long-awaited biopic of badminton ace Saina Nehwal has been given a release date. Watch the first teaser here.
Close
Ileana D’Cruz has often spoken about being insecure about her appearance.
Ileana D’Cruz has often spoken about being insecure about her appearance.

Ileana has one-word reply after being asked if she's had cosmetic surgery done

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 03:20 PM IST
  • Actor Ileana D'Cruz was asked during an Instagram Ask Me Anything session if she's ever had any cosmetic surgeries done. Here's what she said.
Close
Kangana Ranaut often speaks on burning issues.
Kangana Ranaut often speaks on burning issues.

Kangana tweets about another FIR against her after 'chacha' Javed's warrant

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 02:32 PM IST
  • Kangana Ranaut says that a new FIR has been registered against her, this time over her tweets on farmers agitation against the farm bills.
Close
Aadar Jain hypes Tara Sutaria's Tadap.
Aadar Jain hypes Tara Sutaria's Tadap.

Tara Sutaria showers boyfriend Aadar Jain with love as he hypes up Tadap

PUBLISHED ON MAR 02, 2021 02:07 PM IST
  • Tara Sutaria shared the first poster of her upcoming movie Tadap. Her boyfriend Aadar Jain shared the poster on his Instagram Stories and expressed his excitement.
Close
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP