Starry night

The fifth annual PTC Punjabi Music Awards saw scintillating performances by stars from Bollywood and the Punjabi music industry

chandigarh Updated: Mar 25, 2012 21:21 IST

The night of March 24 saw felicitation of Punjabi music talent, as stars from the industry got together to celebrate the musical heroes of 2011. The Fifth Annual PTC Punjabi Music Awards 2012, which were held at PAP Grounds, Jalandhar, on March 24, were telecast live on PTC Punjabi in India, and at 8.30 pm (EST) in the US and Canada.

The star-studded award ceremony featured special performances by Gurdas Maan, Jazzy B, Gippy Grewal, Rabbi Shergill and Kulwinder Johal. Bollywood starlet Sameera Reddy stole the show with dance performances on peppy Bollywood numbers such as Paisa Paisa Karti Hai, Chikni Chameli and Sheila Ki Jawani. The hosts for the evening were actors Divya Dutta and Sonu Sood and singer Master Saleem. Many young singers of Punjab such as Jassi Gill, Charan, Paramjeet Kaur, Vinod, Garry Sandhu, Sukhdeep Grewal, Mani Mann, Meer and Manpreet Kaur also performed at the event.

The show began with actor Divya Dutta and singer Sarbjit Cheema performing jago and boliyan in a typical Punjabi style.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Surinder Shinda, while a special tribute was paid to Late Kuldeep Manak for his contribution towards the Punjabi music industry.

Manak's son Yudhvir Manak, who is fighting cancer presently, accepted the Tribute Award with singer Jazzy B. Gurdas Maan and Vikram Sahney were conferred with the Kohinoor-E-Punjab and Virsa-E-Punjab awards respectively.

Each year, the nominations are finalised and votes received from more than 1,000 prominent members of the music industry. This forms 50% of the weightage for the final winner. The rest of the 50% is the compilation of public votes received via the internet and SMS. Members of the music industry also nominate veterans from the industry to be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

And the award goes to…

Lifetime achievement award: Surinder Shinda

Kohinoor of Punjab: Gurdas Mann

Tribute award: Kuldeep Manak

Best Music Video Director: Rimpy Prince for Akhiyan Ch Pani

Best Debut Vocalist (female): Paramjit Kaur

Best Debut Vocalist (male): Alfaaz and Garry Sandhu

Best Lyricist: Satinder Sartaj for Cheere Waleya

Best Music Director: Honey Singh

Best Pop Vocalist (female): Miss Pooja

Best Pop Vocalist (male): Nachhatar Singh

Most Popular Song of the Year: Angrezi Beat Te

First Published: Mar 25, 2012 21:10 IST