Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: Shiv Sena holds Kalyan in Maharashtra

constituency watch Updated: Mar 19, 2019 11:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Kalyan Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Kalyan Profile,Maharashtra Kalyan General Elections 2019

A replica of Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) installed by the Election Commission of India to create awareness about voting.(PTI file photo)

Kalyan Lok Sabha constituency, one of the 48 in Maharashtra, was created on February 2008 following delimitation.

The constituency first held elections in 2009 and its first member of parliament (MP) was Anand Paranjpe of Shiv Sena.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, this constituency was won by Shrikant Shinde also of Shiv Sena who defeated Anand Anand Paranjpe of the NCP by more than two lakh votes.

Read: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party debuted in the constituency in 2014 and fielded Naresh Thakur who polled around 20,000 votes, Nearly 9000 votes were polled for NOTA.

Maharashtra’s 48 constituencies will vote to elect members to the Lok Sabha in four phases on April 11,18, 23 and 29.

Here’s all you need to know about Kalyan Lok Sabha constituency:

State : Maharashtra

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kalyan

Sitting MP, Party: Dr.Shrikant Eknath Shinde, Shiv Sena

Winning margin: 250,749

Runner up name, party: Anand Prakash Paranjpe, NCP

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,856

Number of voters in 2014: 825,414

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 83%

Number of women voters: 353,415

First Published: Mar 19, 2019 11:10 IST