Today in New Delhi, India
May 14, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Indore in Madhya Pradesh has picked BJP’s Sumitra Mahajan past eight terms

In 2014, Mahajan had defeated Congress’s Satyanarayan Patel by a hefty margin of 4.66 lakh votes.

constituency watch Updated: May 14, 2019 13:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Indore Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Indore Profile,Madhya Pradesh
Votera queue up outside a polling booth in Bhopal on May 12, the sixth phase in the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections 2019(ANI file photo)

BJP’s Sumitra Mahajan, popularly called Tai, is the lawmaker from the Indore Lok Sabha in Madhya Pradesh and has represented the constituency eight consecutive times since 1989.

This time the BJP has decided to field Shankar Lalwani. On 5 April, a week before she turned 76, Mahajan wrote a letter to the BJP top leadership saying they were free to choose another candidate. “I think there is some dilemma (in the party). So, I announce that I will not contest the Lok Sabha polls. The party can decide freely.”

Read: Full coverage of Lok Sabha elections 2019

In 2014, she had defeated Congress’s Satyanarayan Patel by a hefty margin of 4.66 lakh votes. One of the 29 Lok Sabha seats from Madhya Pradesh, this constituency covers most of the Indore district.

Read: All about Madhya Pradesh

Here’s all you need to know about the Indore Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Indore

Date of polling: May 19

2019 candidates: Shankar Lalwani (BJP), Pankaj Sanghvi (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Sumitra Mahajan (BJP)

Winning margin in 2014: 466,901

Runner up name, party: Satyanarayan Patel, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,317,016

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 62

Number of women voters: 580,058

Number of polling booths in 2014:2,206

First Published: May 14, 2019 13:23 IST