Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 16, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Kane Williamson becomes leading run-scorer in IPL 2018

Kane Williamson now has 685 runs this season in 15 matches, averaging 57.08 - well ahead of Delhi Daredevils’ Rishabh Pant - in the Indian Premier League.

cricket Updated: May 22, 2018 20:06 IST
Devarchit Varma
Devarchit Varma
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
Kane Williamson,IPL 2018,Indian Premier League
Kane Williamson has been the star performer for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018.(PTI)

Kane Williamson became the leading run-scorer in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 tournament, during the Qualifier 1 between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK). (HIGHLIGHTS)

Williamson, who fell for a brisk 15-ball 24, now has 685 runs this season in 15 matches, averaging 57.08. He has so far scored eight half-centuries in IPL 2018, and he looked in prime form on Tuesday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai before he was dismissed. (SCORECARD)

The SRH captain had to come in early after his side lost their second leading run-scorer in this IPL, Shikhar Dhawan, for a first-ball duck off Deepak Chahar.

Dhawan himself missed out on completing his 4,000 runs as he needed to score two more runs to achieve the feat.

Williamson soon responded with three boundaries off Chahar in the first over itself, displaying an aggressive approach against a bowler who had previously troubled SRH on both their league games in this edition of IPL.

Williamson was dismissed by CSK pacer Shardul Thakur, whose delivery sprayed on the leg side produced a big wicket for his team.

READ | IPL 2018, Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals: 5 key clashes & memorable matches

This was after Sunrisers Hyderabad were asked to bat first with Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni winning the toss.

The winner of the Qualifier 1 on Tuesday will remain in Mumbai for the IPL 2018 final to be played on Sunday, whereas the losing team will travel to take on the winner of the contest between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR).

KKR and RR will clash in the Eliminator on Wednesday at Kolkata’s iconic Eden Gardens.

First Published: May 22, 2018 20:05 IST