Mormugao, Goa Assembly Election 2022 – Get Mormugao constituency news updates and complete details | Hindustan Times

Goa Election 2022: Mormugao Assembly Seat

Mormugao Goa Assembly Election 2022
Results Awaited
Trailing/Runner up
Results Awaited

Goa Election: Mormugao Assembly Constituency 2022

Mormugao is the assembly constituency which comes under the South Goa district. It is one of the 40 Goa Legislative Assembly Constituencies . Goa Assembly Election 2022 for Mormugao was held on February 14 and the result was declared on March 10.

In Goa Assembly Election 2017, there were 21,446 registered voters for Mormugao assembly seat, out of which 11,008 were male and 10,438 were female voters. 0.7% of voters opted for for the None of the Above (NOTA) option.

What happened last time

In 2017, 6 candidates were contesting for Mormugao assembly constituency seat. Mormugao was one of 13 seats won by the Bharatiya Janata Party. It was an extremely close competition, with Bharatiya Janata Party's Milind Sagun Naik narrowly winning the election defeating Indian National Congress's Sankalp Amonkar by a vary little margin of 140 votes.

The top two candidates split 97.7% of votes between them. Bharatiya Janata Party's Milind Sagun Naik got a total of 8,466 votes, while Indian National Congress's Sankalp Amonkar secured 8,326 votes. Aam Aadmi Party's candidate Giovanni Karl Vaz secured 267 votes to finish at the third place. The top three parties got 49.3%, 48.4% and 1.6% respectively.

In Goa Assembly election 2012, Bharatiya Janata Party's Milind Sagun Naik outperformed Indian National Congress's Sankalp Padmanabh by 913 votes.


Goa Election 2022


Jairam Ramesh on PM's mangalsutra remark: 'Modi is Vish Guru, never respected…'

Published on Apr 23, 2024 09:14 PM IST

Jairam Ramesh claimed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi had adopted the path of polarization because he was nervous.

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh during a political event in Delhi, earlier this month, (Hindustan Times)

Lok Sabha polls phase 3 has over 1,350 candidates, says Election Commission

The third phase of the Lok Sabha elections scheduled for May 7.

Polling officials collect VVPATs and other voting materials.(Representative Image)
Published on Apr 23, 2024 08:47 PM IST

Amit Shah's dig at Congress over Pak's terror attacks: 'Did nothing because...'

Amit Shah, however, claimed PM Narendra Modi finished the terrorists who attacked India.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with union ministers Amit Shah and S Jaishankar. (PTI file photo)
Updated on Apr 23, 2024 06:56 PM IST

'Abhishek Banerjee would have been shot if...': Mamata Banerjee attacks BJP

At a rally in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee attacked the BJP, saying "these people" want to kill everyone or put them behind bars.

Chief minister of West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee waves towards TMC supporters during a campaign rally. (HT file photo)
Updated on Apr 23, 2024 05:56 PM IST

View: 3 reasons why Mamata Banerjee is expected to continue dominating Bengal

In contemporary India, West Bengal is a classic example of how politics abhors a vacuum.

West Bengal chief minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee addresses a public meeting for the Lok Sabha elections. (PTI file photo)
Updated on Apr 23, 2024 05:15 PM IST

'Mamata Banerjee can't dare to…': Amit Shah reveals BJP's target in Bengal

Amit Shah said if the people of West Bengal want to stop infiltration in the state, they will have to make Narendra Modi the Prime Minister of India again.

Amit Shah claimed that Modi had sent <span class='webrupee'>₹</span>7 lakh crore to West Bengal but the TMC indulged in corruption.(ANI)
Updated on Apr 23, 2024 04:53 PM IST

‘To strengthen minority vote bank’: Amit Shah attacks Chidambaram over CAA row

Amit Shah further emphasised that P Chidambaram's intentions would never come to fruition.

Union Minister and BJP leader Amit Shah (PTI)
Published on Apr 23, 2024 02:15 PM IST

Amid ‘Muslims’ remark row, PM claims 'Hanuman Chalisa a crime' under Cong rule

In the rally, PM Narendra Modi mentioned an assault on a shopkeeper in Congress-ruled Karnataka for allegedly playing Hanuman Chalisa.

Tonk: Prime Minister Narendra Modi during a public meeting for the Lok Sabha elections.(PTI)
Updated on Apr 23, 2024 03:19 PM IST

‘Saale sahab kya karenge…’: Smriti Irani's dig at Rahul Gandhi amid Amethi buzz

Union minister Smriti Irani took a dig at Congress leader Rahul Gandhi amid the buzz around the party's Amethi seat candidature.

Union minister and Amethi MP Smriti Irani. (File)
Published on Apr 23, 2024 01:41 PM IST

Congress manifesto meant for Pakistan elections: Himanta Biswa Sarma

Himanta Biswa Sarma claimed the Congress has promised that it will snatch away resources from the masses for "appeasement".

Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma(PTI file photo)
Published on Apr 23, 2024 11:44 AM IST
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, April 24, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On