Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 20, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

How the numbers stack up for no-trust vote against Modi government

The no-confidence motion has the support of the Congress, Trinamool Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Samajwadi Party, and the Communist Party of India (Marxist), a bitter rival of the TMC, among others.

india Updated: Jul 19, 2018 11:11 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
No-confidence motion,Trust vote,Modi govt
Prime Minister Narendra Modi (right) is greeted by Parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar, Union MoS for Parliamentary Affairs Vijay Goel, MoS Arjun Ram Meghwal as he arrives to address the media ahead of the Monsoon session of Parliament in New Delhi, on July 18, 2018.(Arvind Yadav/HT Photo)

The Lok Sabha will debate and vote on the opposition’s no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government on Friday, speaker Sumitra Mahajan said on Wednesday in a surprise move, setting the stage for the first no-trust vote on the floor of Parliament in 15 years.

This will be the first no-confidence vote in Parliament since 2003, when the then-NDA government, led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee, sailed through a no-trust motion initiated by the Congress.

The government is confident of its numbers and said it was looking forward to a debate in which it can showcase its achievements. Here is a look at how the numbers stack up in Lok Sabha:

Expected stand on no-confidence motion:

First Published: Jul 19, 2018 09:35 IST