Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 18, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: BJP will look to retain West Delhi seat

West Delhi will vote on May 12 in the sixth phase of the general election

constituency watch Updated: Mar 17, 2019 13:34 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
West Delhi Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,West Delhi Profile,Maharashtra West Delhi General Elections 2019
Voters show their inked fingers in 2014 after casting their votes for Lok Sabha elections at Chandni Chowk in New Delhi.(HT file photo)

One of the seven parliamentary constituencies in Delhi, the West Delhi Lok Sabha seat came was created in 2008 after the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India were implemented.

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP’s) Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the sitting member of Parliament from West Delhi constituency, which covers areas like Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Dwarka, Rajouri Garden among others. Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma had won against the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Jarnail Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

Parvesh is the son of Delhi’s former chief minister and BJP leader Sahib Singh Verma.

Read: All you need to know about Delhi

Congress’ Mahabal Mishra won the seat in 2009 against the BJP’s Jagdish Mukhi.

West Delhi will vote on May 12 in the sixth phase of the general election. The results of the seven-round Lok Sabha election 2019 will be declared on May 23.

Here are some facts about West Delhi Lok Sabha seat:

State: Delhi

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: West Delhi

Sitting MP, party: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 268,586

Runner up name, party: Jarnail Singh, AAP

Number of voters in 2014: 1,347,971

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 66.10 %

Number of women voters in 2014: 930,524

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,889

First Published: Mar 17, 2019 13:34 IST