Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 22, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: New TDP candidate to defend Amalapuram seat in Andhra

Siting MP from Amalapuram constituency Pandula Ravindra Babu joined the YSR Congress Party in February this tear.

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 11, 2019 09:41 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindyustan Times, New Delhi
Lok Sabha elcetion 2019,Lpk Sabha election,General election
Pandula Ravindra Babu who won the Amalapuram Lok Sabha seat in Andhra Pradesh in 2014, quit the party in February to join the YSRCP.(HT PHOTO)

Amalapuram, reserved Scheduled Castes Lok Sabha seat falls in the oil and gas belt in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Like many others, Amalapuram was once a Congress stronghold which won the seat in 1962, 1967, 1971 and 1980 Lok Sabha elections.

But since 1984, the TDP has won the seat five times. In 2014, TDP’s Pandula Ravindra Babu won the seat defeating YSRCP’s Pinipe Viswarupu by over a lakh votes while the Congress’ Butchi Maheswara Rao finished a distant third. The TDP won 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

Ahead of the upcoming election, Babu who is a doctor by qualification, quit TDP and joined YSRCP on February 18. The TDP has named former Lok Sabha speaker late GMC Balyogi’s son Harish as its candidate for the Amalapuram seat this time while the YRSCP will field Chinta Anuradha

According to the 2011 census, out of total population of 1872795, 91.22% is rural and 8.78% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 24.58 and 0.78, respectively out of total population.

Amalapuram Lok Sabha constituency in numbers:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Amalapuram

Reservation nature of constituency: SC

2019 candidates:  AyyajiVema Manepalli (BJP), Janga Gowtham (Congress), GMC Balayogi (TDP), Chinta Anuradha (YSR)

Date of polling: April 11

Sitting MP, Party: Pandula Ravindra Babu, TDP (Joined YSRCP in Feb 2019)

Winning margin in 2014: 120,576 votes

Runner up name, party: Pinipe Viswarupu, YSRC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,357,866

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 83

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1500

Number of women voters: 675,259

First Published: Mar 19, 2019 20:54 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.