Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Balaghat, Madhya Pradesh

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Balaghat, Madhya Pradesh. Since 1998, Balaghat Lok Sabha constituency has consistently voted for the BJP.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 24, 2019 13:13 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Balaghat Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Balaghat Profile,Madhya Pradesh Balaghat General Elections 2019
An election officer demonstrates how an EVM and a Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) function.(Parwaz Khan /HT Photo)

Balaghat is one of the 29 Lok Sabha Constituencies of Madhya Pradesh. The Balaghat constituency covers all of Balaghat district and also a part of Madhya Pradesh’s Seoni district.

Since 1998, Balaghat Lok Sabha constituency has consistently voted for the BJP.

In the 2014 election, BJP’s Bodh Singh Bhagat had defeated Congress’s Hina Likhiram Kawre by a margin of 96,041 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Madhya Pradesh

This time around, the Congress has fielded Madhu Bhagat from Balaghat and will be hoping to break the BJP’s hold on the constituency.

Here’s all you need to know about the Balaghat Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Balaghat

Date of polling: April 29

2019 candidates: Dr. Dhal Singh Bisen (BJP, Madhu Bhagat (Congress), Kankar Munjare (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Bodhsingh Bhagat, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 96,041

Runner up name, party: Hina Likhiram Kawre, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,113,381

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,873

Number of women voters: 541,763

First Published: Mar 25, 2019 16:48 IST