New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 23, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Sep 23, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP looks to retain Hoshangabad in Madhya Pradesh

The BJP has fielded sitting MP Uday Pratap Singh and will be looking for a repeat performance of the 2014 Lok Sabha elections this time around. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 29, 2019 15:15 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
A polling official inks a voter’s finger after she cast her vote.
A polling official inks a voter’s finger after she cast her vote. (Puneet Chandhok/HT Photo)

Hoshangabad is one of the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies that make up Madhya Pradesh.

The first election on the Hoshangabad Lok Sabha seat was held in 1951.

Largely a BJP-dominated seat since 1989, it was won by the Congress in 2009 but the BJP recovered it in 2014 with the victory of Uday Pratap Singh.

In 2009 too the seat was won by Uday Pratap Singh who was contesting on a Congress ticket. In 2014, he joined the BJP and fought and won the 2014 Lok Sabha elections on a BJP ticket.

Read: All you need to know about Madhya Pradesh

For the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has once again fielded sitting MP Uday Pratap Singh, who will go up against the Congress’s Shailendra Diwan.

The BJP is banking on Uday Pratap Singh to retain the Madhya Pradesh seat, while the Congress will be looking to break the BJP’s stranglehold on the constituency.

Here’s all you need to know about Hoshangabad Lok Sabha constituency

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Hoshangabad

Date of polling: May 6

Contesting candidates: Uday Pratap Singh (BJP), Shalendra Diwan (Congress), MP Choudhary (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Uday Pratap Singh, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 389,960

Runner up name, party: Devendra Pate; ‘Guddu Bhaiya’, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,031,823

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 83

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,950

Number of women voters: 437,218

First Published: Apr 29, 2019 14:37 IST