Today in New Delhi, India
May 22, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP looks to retain Khajuraho in Madhya Pradesh

Since 1989, the seat has largely voted for the BJP, only once swinging in favour of the Congress in 1999. Hoping for a repeat performance of 2014, the BJP has fielded Vishnu Datt Sharma from Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat despite opposition from some quarters.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 29, 2019 15:56 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Khajuraho Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Khajuraho Profile,Madhya Pradesh Khajuraho General Elections 2019
An election officer puts indelible ink mark on the index finger of an elderly voter at a polling centre.(AP)

The Khajuraho Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 29 Lok Sabha seats of Madhya Pradesh.

The Khajuraho Parliamentary constituency came into existence after the delimitation exercise of 1957. It is one of the most crucial Lok Sabha seats of the state.

The Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat has been represented in Parliament by major leaders such as Uma Bharti. Since 1989, the seat has largely voted for the BJP, only once swinging in favour of the Congress in 1999 when it elected Satyavrat Chaturvedi who defeated the BJP’s Akhand Pratap Singh Yadav. Chaturvedi was defeated by the BJP’s Ramkrishna Kushmariya in the 2004 elections when the party won back the seat.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Nagendra Singh had defeated the Congress’s Raja Pateria by 247,490 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Madhya Pradesh

This time around, the BJP has fielded Vishnu Datt Sharma as its candidate despite opposition from some quarters within the party against the Congress’s Kavita Singh Natiraja. There was also talk of the possibility of Uma Bharati being fielded once again from the constituency which she had represented for nearly 20 years between 1989 and 1998.

Here’s all you need to know about Khajuraho Lok Sabha constituency

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Khajuraho

Date of polling: May 6

Contesting candidates: Vishnu Datt Sharma (BJP), Kavita Singh Natiraja (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Nagendra Singh, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 208,731

Runner up name, party: Raja Pateria, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 874,531

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 53

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,864

Number of women voters: 357,136

First Published: Apr 29, 2019 15:55 IST