New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 21, 2019-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Aug 22, 2019

Newly framed Pro Kabaddi League returns from 28th July

The Pro Kabaddi League is all set to return in a month’s time with a new format and more teams, making it the largest sporting league in the country on a geographical basis.

other-sports Updated: Jul 06, 2017 16:46 IST
Sarthak Bal
Sarthak Bal
The 5th season of the Pro Kabaddi League will begin from 28th July.
The 5th season of the Pro Kabaddi League will begin from 28th July. (PKL)

Kabaddi action in India is set to resume in Hyderabad with the fifth season Pro Kabaddi League commencing July 28, with Telegu Titans beginning their title charge against the newly drafted Tamil Thalaivas while U Mumba take on state rivals Puneri Paltan on day one.

The latest edition will see significant changes in terms of league format and additional competition. The inclusion of four new teams makes Kabaddi’s premier competition the country’s geographically largest league, with 12 teams competing for the title.

The league stage will feature 132 matches paving the path to five playoff contests, leading to the final that will be held in Chennai on October 28.

READ | National Aquatic Championship: Utkarsh Ghor, Sanjiti Saha set national records

The teams will be divided into two zones with Dabang Delhi, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Puneri Paltan, U Mumba, Haryana Steelers and Gujarat Fortunegiants forming ‘Zone A’. ‘Zone B’ will be shaped by Telugu Titans, Bengaluru Bulls, Patna Pirates, Bengal Warriors, UP Yoddha and Tamil Thalaivas.

Each team will play 15 intra-zonal games and seven inter-zonal matches. The top-three teams from each zone will qualify for the playoffs.

Three qualifiers and two eliminators will be played, giving the top teams from each zone an extra opportunity to qualify for the final. Qualifier 1 & 2 will be played out between the second and third placed team from different zones. The winners will progress to the first eliminator.

READ | Narsingh Yadav questions Sushil Kumar’s appointment as national observer

Qualifier 3 will feature the top teams from both zones, the winner of which advances straight to the final; leaving the loser to face-off against the winner of the first eliminator. The winner of this match-up (Eliminator 2) will make the final.

The 13-week long competition will showcase 234 Kabaddi players from across the globe.

First Published: Jun 28, 2017 23:00 IST

more from other sports