Black hole discovery helps Roger Penrose, Andrea Ghez, Reinhard Genzel win Nobel

Updated on Oct 06, 2020 06:51 PM IST
Copy Link

The winners of the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics were announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on October 6. This year's award was won by three physicists for their work on black holes. Roger Penrose was felicitated for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity. He won one half of the award, while the other was given to Andrea Ghez and Reinhard Genzel. They led the discovery of a supermassive compact object - a huge black hole - at the centre of our galaxy, the Milky Way. Winners of this year's awards won't be called to Stockholm in December for the ceremony in view of the Covid-19 pandemic. Watch the full video for more.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, May 19, 2022