Japan PM, Zuckerberg, Kamala Harris: List of leaders targeted by Russian sanctions

  •  This is a list of prominent world leaders targeted by Russia so far:
Kamala Harris, Mark Zuckerberg.
Kamala Harris, Mark Zuckerberg.
Updated on May 04, 2022 06:17 PM IST
Copy Link
Written by Shubhangi Gupta | Edited by Chandrashekar Srinivasan, New Delhi

Russia Wednesday sanctioned Japanese prime minister Fumio Kishida and other senior officials of the country, including journalists and professors. The move came after Tokyo joined a list of countries that have taken punitive measures against Moscow for its 'military campaign' in Ukraine. "The administration of F. Kishida launched an unprecedented anti-Russian campaign (and) allows unacceptable rhetoric against the Russian Federation, including slander and direct threats," Russia's foreign ministry said in a statement.

Japanese foreign minister Yoshimasa Hayashi and defence minister Nobuo Kishi are also on the list of those sanctioned by Russia. "The sanctions bar the targeted individuals from entering Russia indefinitely," Moscow said.

Russia calls its attack on Ukraine a 'special military operation' to 'demilitarise' and 'denazify' Ukraine.

Kyiv and its Western allies reject that as a false pretext for an illegal war and acts of aggression.

This is a list of prominent world leaders targeted by Russia so far:

Russia last month slapped a travel ban on United States vice president Kamala Harris in response to sanctions imposed by the US over the Kremlin's 'military operations' in Ukraine.

The travel ban covered 27 other US officials, including senior Pentagon figures, American business leaders, and journalists, according to the Russian foreign ministry, which said the ban would remain in effect 'in perpetuity'.

Also read | EU chief proposes ‘complete import ban on all Russian oil’ within six months in new sanctions over Ukraine War

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg has also been targeted by Russian sanctions. Facebook and Instagram - part of Zuckerberg's Meta empire - were earlier banned by Russia which branded the platforms 'extremist' organisations.

US defence officials, including Pentagon spokesman John Kirby and deputy secretary of defence Kathleen Hicks, also feature on Russia's list, AFP reported.

In the same list Russia also served 61 Canadian citizens - including several government officials and, again, journalists - with the 'indefinite' travel ban.

Earlier, British prime minister Boris Johnson - who has frequently voiced his support for Ukraine - and several top UK ministers were banned for their 'unprecedented hostile actions' of imposing sanctions over the Ukraine conflict.

The so-called 'stop list' issued by Moscow also included Indian-origin ministers - UK chancellor Rishi Sunak, home secretary Priti Patel and attorney general Suella Braverman - as well as deputy UK prime minister Dominic Raab, foreign secretary Liz Truss and defence secretary Ben Wallace.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • (File/Reuters)

    Curious case of Pakistan's Sajid Mir, mastermind of 26/11 Mumbai terror attacks

    "Wanted: Dead or Alive" is the usual demand in the world of crime anywhere. But the living is declared dead in Pakistan's world of criminals and terrorists. This is the curious case of Sajid Mir, one of the masterminds of the 26/11 terror attacks in Mumbai, India, in 2008. This is why, and how, Sajid Majeed Mir has surfaced. The now ailing and exiled military ruler, General Pervez Musharraf would ridicule any talk of Pakistan hiding Osama Bin Laden.

  • (Representative Photo)

    South Africa makeshift nightclub death toll climbs to 20: Safety official

    The number of young people who have died at a makeshift nightclub in a township in South Africa's southern city of East London has risen to 20, a senior safety official said Sunday. "The number has increased to 20, three have died in hospital. But there are still two who are very critical," head of the provincial government safety department Weziwe Tikana-Gxothiwe said on local TV.

  • US president Joe Biden says ‘G-7 to ban Russian gold in response to Ukraine war’

    US president Joe Biden says ‘G-7 to ban Russian gold in response to Ukraine war’

    President Joe Biden said Sunday that the United States and other Group of Seven leading economies will ban imports of gold from Russia, the latest in a series of sanctions that the club of democracies hopes will further isolate Russia economically over its invasion of Ukraine. A formal announcement was expected Tuesday as the leaders meet for their annual summit.

  • US First Lady Jill Biden looks on as US President Joe Biden signs the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act into law, in the Roosevelt Room of the White House in Washington, DC, on Saturday. (AFP)

    ‘Do something’: Joe Biden signs rare bipartisan gun control legislation

    United States President Joe Biden signed a rare bipartisan bill which institutionalises a set of limited gun safety measures on Saturday into law. The first legislative reform in three decades on the issue was sparked by a recent spike in mass shoutings across the country, especially a hate crime in Buffalo that killed ten people and a school shooting in Texas that killed 19 children and two teachers.

  • People wait in a long queues to buy fuel for their vehicles at a filling station in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

    Sri Lanka hikes fuel prices as US delegation arrives

    Sri Lanka hiked fuel prices on Sunday, creating further pain for ordinary people as officials from the United States arrived for talks aimed at alleviating the island's dire economic crisis. Ceylon Petroleum Corporation said it raised the price of diesel, used widely in public transport, by 15 percent to 460 rupees ($1.27) a litre while upping petrol 22 percent to 550 rupees ($1.52).

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, June 26, 2022