Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 19, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Election Result 2019: Kangra constituency of Himachal Pradesh

All four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh voted on May 12, the sixth phase of elections.

constituency watch Updated: May 23, 2019 12:07 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Kangra Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Kangra Profile,Himachal Pradesh
BJP candidate from Kangra Lok Sabha constituency Kishan Kapoor filing his nomination papers. He is pitted against Congress candidate and two-time MLA Pawan Kajal.(HT file photo)

The Congress had fielded two-time MLA Pawan Kajal from Kangra Lok Sabha constituency of Himachal Pradesh while the BJP had picked state minister Kishan Kapoor after dropping veteran leader and former chief minister Shanta Kumar. Kishan Kapoor is currently leading in terms of vote counts.

Read: Full coverage of Lok Sabha elections 2019

Kajal, 44, hails from the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) while Kapoor, who served as the food and civil supply minister in the Jai Ram Thakur-led BJP government in the state, belongs to the semi-nomadic Gaddi tribe, having a sizeable population in Kangra and Chamba districts.

The Kangra constituency comprises 17 assembly segments — 13 in Kangra and four in Chamba districts.

All four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh voted on May 12, the sixth phase of elections.

State: Himachal Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kangra

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Kishen Kumar (BJP), Pawan Kajal (Congress)

Sitting MP, party: Shanta Kumar, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 170, 072

Runner up name, party: Chander Kumar, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 799,926

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 63.52%

Number of women voters in 2014: 406,518

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,796

Follow: Lok Sabha Election, Election Result 2019, Live Election Result, Election News

First Published: May 10, 2019 12:04 IST