Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 22, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Election Result 2019: Shimla constituency in Himachal Pradesh

All four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh will vote on May 12, the sixth phase of elections.

constituency watch Updated: May 23, 2019 12:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Shimla Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Shimla Profile,Himachal Pradesh
All four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh will vote on May 12, the sixth phase of elections.(Ht file photo)

The Shimla Lok Sabha constituency in Himachal Pradesh voted on May 12 with the other three parliamentary seats of the state.

In 2014, BJP’s Virender Kashyap had defeated Congress’s Mohanlal Brakta by a margin of 738,047 votes.

Read: Full coverage of Lok Sabha elections 2019

The BJP has dropped its two-time MP Virender Kashyap and fielded Suresh Kashyap instead while the Congress fielded Dhani Ram Shandil. However, Suresh Kumar Kashyap is leading in Shimla currently,

Both candidates, who belong to the Koli community covered under the Scheduled Castes category, are from the defence background. One is a retired Colonel of the Indian Army, while another is former Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Indian Air Force.

The issue of granting tribal status to Hatti community of Sirmaur in Himachal Pradesh was one of the key issues this time.

All four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh voted on May 12, the sixth phase of elections

State: Himachal Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Shimla

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Suresh Kashyap (BJP), Dhani Ram Shandil (Congress)

Sitting MP, party: Virender Kashyap, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 84,187

Runner up name, party: Mohanlal Brakta, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 738,047

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 64 %

Number of women voters in 2014: 334,425

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,924

Follow: Lok Sabha Election, Election Result 2019, Live Election Result, Election News

First Published: May 10, 2019 12:40 IST

more from constituency watch