Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP councillor Preeti Aggarwal elected mayor of North Delhi Corporation

Preeti Aggarwal was elected as the mayor of NDMC unopposed on Thursday. Aggarwal, who is a councillor from Rohini, had defeated her nearest contender Abhinav Mishra of AAP by over 5,000 votes.

delhi Updated: May 19, 2017 09:54 IST
Abhinav Rajput
Abhinav Rajput
Hindustan Times
Delhi news,MCD election,NDMC
Preeti Aggarwal was elected as the mayor of North Delhi Municipal Corporation on Thursday. (HT FILE)

BJP councillor from Rohini, Preeti Aggarwal, was elected as the mayor of North Delhi Municipal Corporation on Thursday. She was elected unopposed as no other political party had filled nominations.

Aggarwal had defeated AAP’s Abhinav Mishra in the Delhi civic election by a margin of 5,413 votes. Aggarwal had bagged 11,723 votes while Mishra finished second with 6,310.

Out of the 103 wards under NDMC that had gone to polls, the BJP won 64, AAP 21 and Congress 15. The BJP won 181 out of 270 seats in the civic body elections on April 23.

Vijay Kumar Bhagat, who won from the Swami Sharda Nand Colony ward on a BJP ticket, was elected as deputy mayor in the north corporation.

Aggarwal, whose first test as a mayor would be to contain the spread of mosquito-borne diseases in Delhi, said, “My goal is to ensure 3S in the corporation — Swachhata, Shiksha and Swasth, (cleanliness, education and health) in North Delhi areas.”

“We are already running awareness campaigns in corporation schools and meetings have been held with sanitation workers, during which they were asked to undertake cleanliness drives on a larger scale,” she said.

Along with Aggarwal, a total of 103 councillors took oath. There are 104 councillor councillor in the North Corporation but election for one seat Sarai Peepal Thala.

The three Corporations — South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) and North Delhi Municipal Corporation — will have female mayors as the seat is reserved for women candidates for the first year as per the Delhi Municipal Act.

First Published: May 18, 2017 17:07 IST